KCB rugby beat Nondies in extra time to make history in Impala Floodlit

Nondies Benson Salem in action against KCB. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

KCB Rugby have the most titles won in the Impala Floodlit Tournament having beaten Nondies 25-23 in extra to win the 10th title.

The victory on Saturday night saw the bankers overtake Mean Machine who had nine titles. They are the first team to win the floodies five times in a row.

Heading to this, KCB had won the last four editions and while Nondies were making back to back final appearances with their last title in 2012.

KCB seeking to become the most successful club in the competition landed the opener through centre Peter Kilonzo and Darwin Mukidza converted for 7-0 lead.

Two successive penalties by Calvin Sheunda at the other end saw Nondies close the gap to a point.

In the final half, Mukidza drilled in three penalties against Sheunda’s one to change the scoreline to 16-9.

Editor’s picks 

Nondies fought on to score a try through Nyaenya Moseti and added the extras for a 16-16 tie.

The try send the game to extra time. In extra time, Mukidza drilled in three penalties for a 25-16 before Nondies responded with a converted try for 23 points.

KCB held on the slim lead for the fifth consecutive title and 10th overall.

KCB Rugby vs Nondies

  1. Nick Okullo
  2. Griffin Musila
  3. Derrick Juma
  4. Brian Munyali
  5. Andy Cole
  6. Elvis Olukusi
  7. Steve Wamai
  8. Felix 0j00
  9. Samuel Asati
  10. Shaban Ahmed
  11. Michael Wamalwa
  12. Bob Muhati
  13. Peter Kilonzo
  14. Festus Shiasi
  15. Darwin Mukidza
  16. Fidel Maina
  17. Dennis Waithaka
  18. Nelson Nyandat
  19. Martin Owilla
  20. Winston Macharia
  21. Michael Wanjala
  22. Elvis Namusasi
  23. Vincent Onyala


Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top