Samurai names Safari 7s squad, Injera part of technical bench

Collins Injera in a past hall of fame event. PHOTO/Melrose 7s.

Samurai Barracudas have announced their squad for the Safari 7s tournament scheduled for RFUEA Grounds from 17-19.

The technician bench has  Nick Wakley as the head coach with former Kenya 7s star Collins Injera set to serve as his assistant coach.

Samurai TB 

Fahad Adil is the operations director while Jimmy Mnene is the team manager.

Collins Injera and wife pose for a photo after being inducted. Photo Courtesy/C Injera.

Collins Injera and wife pose for a photo after being inducted. Photo Courtesy/C Injera.

George Odhiambo has the physio role as well as Rose Graham while  Billy Odengo will be the analyst.

The Squad has four South Africans led by Ethan Isaacs, Mervano Da Silva, Nabo Sokoyi and Noegh Hayward.

The French contingent includes Arthur Haug and Florian Makaia. The Englishmen in the squad include Charlie Coe and Charlie Venables.

Welshman Henry Kirwan, Scottishman  Struan Hutchison, and Irishman Tom Roach.


In this year’s edition, United Kingdom’s invitational duo Tropic 7s, and Red Wailers.

Other teams expected to feature in the tournament slated for 17-19 November are defending Champions Kenya Shujaa, 2021 finalists Germany, Bronze winners Kenya Morans, former African Champions Uganda, Western Province and  SA All Stars.

Kenyan Champions KCB Rugby are also set for back-to-back appearances in the three-day competition.

In the Women’s competition, Kenya Lionesses 1 and 2, Tropic 7s and TUKs women are also set to participate.

The tournament is scheduled to take place at RFUEA Grounds. The return of the Safari 7s tournament coincides with the qualification of the Kenya 7s for the 2024 Paris Olympics.

The Safari 7s is an annual rugby sevens tournament held in Nairobi, Kenya. It is open to international representative sides, professional and amateur clubs, invitational teams, university, and school teams.


Men’s competition: Shujaa, Morans, Uganda, Samurai, Germany, Red Wailers, Tropic 7s, KCB Rugby, Western Province and SA All Stars.

Safari 7s women’s: Kenya Lionesses 1, 2, Tropic 7s and TUKs Women

Samurai Barracudas Squad:

  • Arthur Haug
  • Charlie Coe
  • Charlie Venables
  • Dan Hoesk
  • Ethan Issacs
  • Florian Makala
  • Henry Kirwan
  • Mervan da Silva
  • Nabo Sikoyi
  • Noegh Hayward
  • Struan Hutchison
  • Tom Role

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top