Cheetahs make 7 changes for Rugby Super Series final

Cheetahs vs Lions in a scrum-contest. PHOTO/Screengrab

Cheetahs Head Coach Lawrence Buyachi has made seven changes for the Rugby Super Series final against Lions at RFUEA Grounds.

Francis Atiti and Desterious Ifedha return to the front row as props, replacing Kevin Kiget and Brian Onyango, while Emmanuel Mbota will continue as hooker.

Cheetahs pack changes

Tyson Okoth has been retained and will partner with Clinton Odhiambo as Barry Opondo drops out.

In the back row, Nakuru RFC duo Felix Okoth and co-captain Amos Obae make their fourth consecutive starts as Elkeans Musonye returns to replace Nelson Tengeye.

Experienced Sam Onsomu has come in for youngster James Muthoni at scrum-half, and Tyson Maina forms a midfield partnership with Kenya U20’s Philip Okeyo, replacing Javan Okwaro.


Alvin Khavoli’s place has been taken up by Beldad Ogeta, Dennis Abukuse starts on the right side, and Samuel Mwaura continues at fullback.

Cheetahs will be keen to complete a double over Lions, having beaten them in Nakuru a fortnight ago.

Cheetahs Rugby Super Series squad

1. Francis Atiti

2. Emmanuel Mboya

3. Desterious Ifedha

4. Tyson Okoth

5. Clinton Juma

6. Amos Obae (CC)

7. Felix Odhiambo

8. Elkeans Musonye

9. Samson Onsomu

10. Abutwalib Wesonga

11. Beldad Ogeta

12. Tyson Maina

13. Philip Okeyo

14. Denis Abukuse

15. Quinto Ongo (CC)


16. Reuben Njoroge

17. Kevin Kiget

18. Brian Ochieng

19. Ibrahim Ayoo

20. Nelson Makokha

21. James Macharia

22. Timothy Okwemba

23. Sam Mwaura

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top