Anduvate, Mwaura earn Menengai Oilers starts against Blad

Menengai Oilers Harold Anduvate during kabeberi 7s. Photo/Cmony Images.
Menengai Oilers Harold Anduvate during kabeberi 7s. Photo/Cmony Images.

Menengai Oilers head coach Gibson Weru has named his charges that will be out to battle with Kenyatta University’s Blak Blad at the Nakuru showground in a match that will kick off at 3 pm.

In the team, we will see Elkeans Musonye getting his first start of the year coming at his favourite number 8. Former captain Harold Anduvate will also get his first start of the season coming in at the midfield this is after two years of injury.

Menengai Oilers new signing

New signing  Samuel Mwaura will also get his first full start with newcomers Allan Ochieng’ and Keegan Clarkson set to make their debuts from the bench.

Celestine Mboi maintains his spot at the loosehead prop after having an impressive season since joining the team. Vincent Mwikali will be the tight head prop with Emmanuel Mulla being the hooker.

Captain Ibrahim Ayoo and Clinton Odhiambo continue with their partnership in the second row. Jadah Abdon comes in at the blind side flank with Chrispine Shitundo being the open-side flanker. Musonye is the number 8.


Samson Onsomu will be the days scrum half with Abutwalib Wesonga coming in at the fly-half. The back three will be occupied by Alvin Khavoli on the left wing and Davis Nyaundi who shifts to the right wing after having played as the full-back previously.

Mwaura comes in at fullback. The midfield has Anduvate in the inside centre and Dennis Abukuse on the outside forming that midfield partnership.

Menengai Oilers squad

1. Celestine Mboi 2. Emmanuel Mulla 3. Vincent Mwikali  4. Ibrahim Ayoo (C) 5. Clinton Odhiaombo 6. Jadah Abdon 7. Chrispine Shitundo 8. Elkeans Musonye 9. Samson Onsomu 10. Abutwalib Wesonga 11. Alvin Khavoli 12. Harold Anduvate 13. Dennis Abukuse 14. Davis Nyaundi 15. Samuel Mwaura

16. Colman Were 17. Allan Ochieng’* 18. Destrious Ifedha 19. Samuel Were 20. Nixon Ochieng’ 21. Andrew Odero 22. Tony Oketch 23. Clarkson Keegan*

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top