MMUST stun Kabras RFC to win Lake Victoria 15s

MMUST in a past action. Photo Courtesy/

MMUST Rugby emerged as the Lake Victoria 15s Champions, securing a hard-fought 14-13 victory over the outgoing Champions, Kabras RFC, in a thrilling match held at Jomo Kenyatta Stadium in Mamboleo.

Despite Kabras being the favourite team, having triumphed in the last four encounters, the scoreline had progressively tightened in the last two meetings.

MMUST eagerness 

The final was a rematch of the 2022 showdown, where Kabras RFC claimed a 17-13 victory. Eager to reverse the outcome, MMUST entered the match with determination.

Kabras' Paul Abuto in action against MMUST. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kabras’ Paul Abuto in a past action against MMUST. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

The early stages saw MMUST seizing the initiative as Washington Ombima successfully converted two penalties, propelling them to a 6-0 lead. Kabras responded with a penalty, narrowing the gap to 6-3.


In the final minutes of the first half, Kabras made a significant push, resulting in Mathias Osimbo scoring a try and giving them an 8-6 lead.

The second half witnessed Kabras extending their lead with an unconverted try, reaching a 13-6 advantage. However, MMUST remained resolute, staging a comeback with Sam Maboni scoring a try, bringing the score to 13-11, though the conversion was unsuccessful.

Ombima wins for MMUST

In a tense finale, Ombima secured the victory for MMUST by expertly converting a penalty, allowing his team to clinch a 14-13 win.

KRU Development Director Dr Ochieng Ahaya and John Asila consult. Photo Courtesy/MMUST.

KRU Development Director Dr Ochieng Ahaya and John Asila consult. Photo Courtesy/MMUST.

This triumph holds special significance for John Asila’s charges, as it serves as a morale booster for a team that had faced relegation from the top tier in the previous season.

Kabras RFC squad

1. Gabriel Adero. 2. Gibson perez. 3. Mike Mare 4.Andrew Wangila. 5. David Bunduki. 6. Thomas Simiyu-Cc 7. Collins Indeche. 8. Patrick Lumumba. 9. Felix Bukhutse. 10. Valerian Tendwa. 11. Humphrey Asiligwa. 12. Hillary Salano. 13. Mathias Osimbo 14. Griffins Chao. 15. Flavian Otiyo.

16. Fortune Aturo. 17. Steve Oluoch. 18. Darrel Ogot. 19. Clinton Litali. 20. Biden hayo. 21. Victor Wafula. * 22. Eric Cantona. 23. Victor Otieno.

1.Collins Ngoko C 2.Caleb Owino 3.Javan Orlando 4.Ryan Makaka 5.Nelson Makokha 6.Benson Mwata 7.Brian Ndeda 8.Paywick Munoko
9.Veron Kaburu C 10.Washington Ombima 11.Musa Mugandi 12.Ian Oduor 13.Kelvin Bukhala 14.Sam Maboni 15.Josephat Omulefu

RESERVES 16.Ishmael Karanj 17.Lenny Shume 18.Daniel Mukambi 19.Churchill Oyugi 20.Brian Luseka  21.Philip Otsyula 22.Paul Odongo
23.Byron Ogada 24.Bevon Okot 25.Edmond Omondi

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top