Menengai Oilers outmuscle Homeboyz to stay unbeaten

Menengai Oilers in a past action Phot Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.
Menengai Oilers in a past action Phot Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Menengai Oilers collected their four straight win of the season as they defeated Homeboyz 37-22 at Jamhuri Grounds on Saturday.

Gibson Weru charges had dropped a point in their win over MMUST last weekend and were keen to collect maximum points this weekend to keep up with KCB Rugby and Kabras RFC.

Oilers lead at Halftime

They were facing a Homeboyz side that had lost to KCB last weekend and were hoping to bounce back to winning ways.  The Nakuru based side fought to take a 14-8 lead to the break.

Kenyan International John Okoth scored the opening try of the game after just six minutes of play and Tony Oketch converted for a 7-0 lead for Oilers.  Mohammed Omollo pulled back for the hosts Homeboyz before Amon Wamalwa on his first start of the season converted a penalty for an 8-7 lead for Oscar Okaron’s charges after 19 minutes of play.

The visitor would fight on and landed a try through Okoth and Oketch added the extras for a 14-8 in the 32nd minute.

The second saw Oilers widen the gap with their hooker Hillary Malweyi touching down before Steve Arunga joined him on the scoresheet for a try that was converted by Herbert Ochieng for a 26-8 scoreline.

Michael Nyakundi came on to score the second try for the Deejays with Omollo converting for a 26-15.

John Okoth with a hattrick

Okoth bagged his third try of the day taking the scores to 31-15. Tom Maina bagged a seven point for the Deejays to hit the 22-point mark but Geoffrey Ominde came off to drill in three more points for the Oilmen to win 37-22.

Oiler end the year with 19 points.


1.Mike Munene, 2. Bruce Abinta, 3. Ezekiel Owiti, 4. Roy Wesonga (c) 5. Felix Odhiambo, 6. Stanley Isogol, 7. Philbert Mwanzo, 8. Tom Maina, 9.Mohammed Omollo, 10. Haroun Lubisia, 11.Bush Mwale, 12.Zeden Marrow, 13. Jan Remke 14.Leonard Mugaisi , 15. Amon Wamalwa.

16. Dan Kagwa, 17. Marvin Ambunya, 18,Wayne Omondi 19. Anthony Omondi, 20. Keith Wasike , 21. Mike Nyakundi 22. Brian Mutugi 23. Bryan Juma


1. Atiti 2. Malweyi 3. Mwikali 4. Miheso5. Clinton 6. N. Ochieng 7. Ndirangu 8. Shitundo – c 9. Odero 10. Gift 11. Omela 12. J. Okoth 13. Sikutwa 14. Arunga 15. Nyaundi

REPLACEMENT: 16. Coleman 17. Ifedha 18. Masibo 19. Wallace 20. Were 21. Mburu 22. Ominde 23. Herbert



Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top