Heathens win 2024 Uganda Rugby Championship title

Heathens hoist Uganda Premiership title. Photo Courtesy Uganda Rugby.

Heathens clinched the 2024 Uganda Rugby Championship with a 15-13 against Black Pirates at Kyadondo Sports Club in the final, securing their 17th title in the country.

Former Kenya 7s, KCB, Mean Machine forward Shadon Munoko started in the match alongside Tonny Okello and Joaquim Chisano and they played a key role in the win.

Heathen tries

The game saw Black Pirates initially take the lead with a penalty, but Heathens later responded with two tries. Emmanuel Byamugisha’s decisive dive over the line, following multiple pick and drives from a lineout, shifted the momentum in Heathens’ favor. The successful conversion put them ahead 7-3.

Just before halftime, Heathens furthered their lead when Micheal Wokorach assisted Joaquim Chisano in scoring a try on the open side. Despite missing the conversion, Heathens went into halftime with a comfortable 12-3 lead.


In the second half, Daniel Okello added to Heathens’ tally with a successful penalty kick, bringing the score to 15-3.

Black Pirates fought back with determination, scoring two quick tries through Roy Kizito and Jeremiah Okello. However, their missed conversions left them trailing at 15-13.

Despite the late surge from Black Pirates, Heathens managed to hold on to their lead, securing the championship title once again.

Heathens squad

1. Albright Sempa, 2. ⁠Watum Syrus, 3. ⁠Byamugisha Emmanuel, 4. ⁠Uhuru Charles, 5. ⁠Okello Tonny, 6. ⁠Odoch Morgan, 7. ⁠Joaquim Chisano
8. ⁠Munoko Shaddy, 9. ⁠Kato Nicholas, 10. ⁠Ofoyrwoth Aaron, 11. ⁠Micheal Amollo, 12. ⁠Gwokto Thomas,  13. ⁠Wokorach Micheal, 14. ⁠Oyet Joseph
15. ⁠Okello Malcom

16. ⁠Hamza Sempija, 17. ⁠Mungufeni Rogers,  18. ⁠Scot Oluoch, 19. ⁠Akera Komaketch, 20. ⁠Olet Simon, 21. Ochan Trevor, 22. ⁠Sebuliba Lawrence
23. ⁠Epilo Paul


1. Ruhweza Alema 2. Nathan Bwambale 3. Edison Ariho 4. Umar Duff 5. Frank Kidega 6. Moses Zziwa 7. Humphrey Tashobya 8. Desire Ayera 9. William Nkore 10. Ivan Magomu 11. Timothy Odongo 12. Isaac Massanganzira 13. Timothy Kisiga 14. Roy Kizito 15. Haruna Muhammed

16. Moses Olweny 17. Alvin Rukundo 18. Brandon Kebba 19. John Paul Atim 20. Mubarak Wandera 21. Stephen Alul 22. Jones Kamiza 23. Jeremiah Okello 24. Brian Ochan 25. Samuel Lubwama


Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top