Buffaloes add CUEA trio to matchday squad to face Rhinos

Line out contest between Catholic Monks and Mengai Oilers. Photo. Dave Mwaura

Buffaloes head coach Max Adaka has made changes to his squad for the Rugby Super Series second-round match against Rhinos, set for 2:00 p.m. at Nakuru Athletics Club.

The lineup includes three players from the Catholic Monks who missed the opener against Cheetahs last weekend.

Omollo starts for Buffaloes

Samuel Omollo, a standout performer for the Monks, has been named as the starting full-back. His teammates Jeremy Odhiambo and Patrick Kluivert have been selected for the bench.

Coach Adaka has also added Hillary Odhiambo to the starting squad, partnering with Clinton Litali in the second row. The front row remains largely intact, with Edward Mwaura and Hillary Mwanjilwa as props, while Geoffrey Shitambasi has been named as captain and hooker, taking over from Gibson Perez.

The back row sees a change, with Gabriel Adero joining the starters, while Biden Hayo moves to the bench. Collins Indeche and Thomas Simiyu retain their slots as flankers.


At scrum-half, Collins Osore replaces Dan Angwech, while Eric Cantona continues at fly-half. Kenya U20 trialist Darrell Brantana joins the midfield with Hillary Salano.

Barthes Cup winner Brian Kiptanui comes in at right wing, with Griffin Chao on the left. The bench features notable names, including Darrell Oluoch, Emmanuel Otieno, and David Williams.

Buffaloes are eager to secure their first win of the campaign after a challenging start. They face a Rhinos team that is also seeking its first victory, making this an important match for both sides.

Buffaloes squad

  1. Edward Mwaura
  2. Geoffrey Shitambasi (C)
  3. Hillary Mwanjilwa
  4. Hillary Odhiambo
  5. Clinton Litali
  6. Thomas Simiyu
  7. Collins Indeche
  8. Gabriel Adero
  9. Collins Osore
  10. Eric Cantona
  11. Griffin Chao
  12. Darrel Brantana
  13. Hillary Salano
  14. Brian Kiptanui
  15. Samuel Omollo

Bench 16. Jeremy Odhiambo

  1. Emmanuel Otieno
  2. Darrel Oluoch
  3. Andrew Wangila
  4. Biden Hayo
  5. Jacktone Omondi
  6. Patrick Kluivert
  7. David Williams

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top