MMUST name squad for Impala date

MMUST Rugby players in a past event. PHOTO/MMUST Rugby.

MMUST Head Coach John Asila has named his squad ahead of the crucial semi-final match against former Kenya Cup side Impala RFC at Kakamega ASK showground at 1 PM.

MMUST RFC will be seeking a chance not only to clinch a spot in the finals but also to earn promotion back to the Kenya Cup league.

Coach Asila leaves the starting front row unchanged, leaving skipper Collins Ngoko leading the pack, with Ishmael Karanja and Javan Orlando as a hooker and tight head prop respectively.

The Calvin undertaker Wabuyele and Churchil Oyugi are tasked with duties of second-row. Mwata Mwakwari starts at flanker this weekend joining Brian Ndeda and  Paywick Wanyama in the loose forward’s slots, leaving Ramadhan Abdalla and Brian Luseka coming off the bench.

Co-skipper Veron Kaburu, will be commandeering the ninth channel with fellow halfback Washington Ombima trusted with his boot at flyhalf.

The Ian Bughaa – Kelvin Bukhala duo will run at the centre, while speedsters Musa Mugandi and Sam Maboni at the wings. Josephat Omulefu closes the list for starting fifteen.

Changes see Bivon Okoth, Ishmael Otieno and Clarence Hope included in this week’s assignment. Phillip Otsyula and Byron Ogada will also be coming in off the bench.


During an interview with Scrummage Africa, the captain, Veron Kaburu said that he is confident that ‘Makaka’ have all it has to earn back their rightful place in KRU’s top tier league – the Kenya Cup.

“We have had a brilliant run this season and this is the match that creams it all. We believe and have faith that we will rewrite history  and earn a promotion back to Kenya Cup.” Kaburu said.

” Our coaches and players have sacrificed a lot to build back the winning culture in this team. We all want to be a part of this legacy and I ask all our fans to come out in masses and cheer on the boys from Lurambi.” He added.



1.JavanOrlando,2. Ishmael Karanja, 3. Collins Ngoko (Cc), 4. Calvin Wabuyele, 5. Churchill Oyigi, 6. Brian Ndeda, 7. Mwata Mwakwari, 8. Paywick Munoko. 9.Veron Kaburu (Cc),10. Washington Ombima, 11. Musa Mugandi, 12. Ian Oduor, 13. Kelvin Bukhala, 14. Sam Maboni, 15. Josephat Omulefu.


16.Fidel Simba, 17.Mohammed Sadala, 18.Daniel Mukambi, 19.Ramadhan Abdalla, 20.Brian Luseka,21.Kevin Abuga, 22.Paul Odongo, 23.Bivon Okoth 25.Byron Ogada, 26. Ishmael Otieno, 27. Philip Otsyula, 28. Clarence Hope

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top