MMUST change 5 for Kakamega derby against Western Bulls

MMUST Rugby players in a past event. PHOTO/MMUST/Twitter

MMUST Rugby Head Coach John Asila has named his squad, making five changes to the squad that will face off with Western Bulls in the Kakamega Derby at MMUST Grounds,

The front row remains unchanged, Javan Orlando, Caleb Owino and Skipper Collins Ngoko will be the prop one, hooker and prop two respectively.

Ryan Makaka and Calvin Wabuyele will be the locks with Jersey four and five respectively.

Benson Mwata is back to the starting 15s with jersey seven and will flank together with Ramadhan Abdalla with Jersey six.

Jimmy Mwembe is back from injury and goes straight to the starting 15 and will be the last man of the scrum.


The back line remains unchanged. Skipper Veron Kaburu remains at the scrum-half position and will play along with Washington Ombima in the fly-half.

Ian Oduor and Kelvin Bukhala combine once more in midfield with jerseys twelve and thirteen respectively.

The back three will include Musa Mugandi at blind wing, Sam Maboni at open wing and Josephat Omulefu at full-back.

Byron Ogada is back also from injury and will start from the bench.  Debutant Kol Moss will also start from the bench.

Other changes include Kenya under 20’s Edmond Omondi and Nygel Obari who will also start from bench.


1.Javan Orlando 2.Caleb Owino 3.Collins Ngoko C 4.Ryan Makaka 5.Calvin Wabuyele 6.Ramadhan Abdalla 7.Benson Mwata 8.Jimmy Mwembe 9.Veron Kaburu C 10. Washington Ombima 11.Musa Mugandi 12.Ian Oduor 13.Kelvin Bukhala 14.Sam Maboni 15.Josephat Omulefu

RESERVES: 16.Ismael karanja 17.Daniel Mukambi 18.Mohammed Sadala 19.Churchil Oyugi 20.Brian Luseka 21.Kevin Abuga 22.Paul Odongo 23.Bevon Okoth 24.Byron Ogada 25.Edmond Omondi 26.Kol Mos 27.Nygel Obari

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top