Kabras RFC scoop Sports Team of Year award at SOYA

Kabras RFC receive cheque. Photo/Scrummage.

For the second year in a row,  Kenya Cup Champions Kabras RFC have been crowned the Sports Team of the Year in the Sportspersonality of the Year awards (SOYA).

The Sugarmen proved their worth by winning the 2022/2023 Kenya Cup title unbeaten. The Sugarmen who last lost a 15s match in 2022 went on a fine run and beat KCB Rugby 19-9 at Kakamega Showground to retain the title they had won in 2022 after beating Oilers in the final.

A month later, the side staged a remarkable comeback to beat KCB 30-27 in the Enterprise Cup final at RFUEA Grounds. It was their third consecutive title since winning their maiden in 2019 under coach Henly Du Plessis.

Kabras showed immense improvement in the shorter version winning the second-place title in the National 7s Circuit after winning titles in Driftwood 7s and Prinsloo 7s.


Under coach Felix Ayange, the 7s side achieved the best performance in their history, surpassing the point tally set by the 2017 National 7s Circuit-winning squad that claimed the title with 102 points.

Kabras boasted a 79.17% win rate in the campaign, securing 28 wins in 36 matches played. With one draw and seven losses, they finished the campaign in second place.

Throughout the 36 matches, they scored 679 points, averaging 18.8 points per match, and conceded 334 points, averaging 9.2 points conceded per match.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top