Uganda 7s name 21-man training squad for Safari 7s preps

Uganda 7s Rugby Team. Photo Courtesy URU.
Uganda 7s Rugby Team. Photo Courtesy URU.

Uganda 7s has announced a squad of 21 players that will start preparations for the Safari 7s tournament scheduled for 14 to 16 October 2022 at RFUEA Grounds.

The squad will be under coach Allan Otim with Garry Mabonga  and Gloria Nalwoga set to serve as Team Manager and Team Doctor respectively.

Otim has picked Alex Aturinda, Timothy Kisiga,  Karim Arinaitwe, and Nobert Okeny, players who were part of the Rugby World Sevens 2022 held in South Africa. The squad will be trimmed to 12 before the tournament.

25th Edition

The 2022 Safari 7s tournament will be held at RFUEA Grounds and it will be the 25th edition of the competition with a total of 12 men and six women teams set to compete as well as the age grade and vets (0ver 35) categories

The premier continental rugby event returns to RFUEA Grounds for the first time since 2019 after being hosted at the Nyayo National Stadium in 2021.

Editor’s pick:

In the 2021 Edition, Kenya 7s commonly known as Shujaa beat Germany 12-5 in the final played at Nyayo Stadium to reclaim the title that had been won by Morans in 2019.

Alvin Otieno scored under the posts, with Levy Amunga converting the try for a 7-0 lead in favour of Shujaa. Germany responded through Jack Hunt, who scored at the left corner for a 7-5 scoreline.

Shujaa would win the clash after Johnstone Olindi crossed over for the winning try.

Kenya Morans claimed bronze after they defeated Red Wailers 12-5. Kenya Lionesses won the Women’s Category.

Uganda (men and women), Zimbabwe (men and women), Spain, Germany, SA All Stars 7s Academy, Nigeria Stallions alongside touring sides (multiple champions) Samurai, Red Wailers and SA Titans were part of the 2022 competition.

Uganda 7s training squad:

1. Alex Aturinda (Pirates)
2. Osuna Mark (Kobs)
3. Wandera Mubarak (Pirates)
4. Bob Kawanda (Walukuba)
5. Etwau Dennis (Hippos)
6. Opileni Hossana (Rams)
7. Tukei Aaron (Buffaloes)
8. Kisiga Timothy (Pirates)
9. Adrian Kasito (Kobs)
10. Kato  Nicholas (Heathens)
11. Joachim Chisano (Heathens)
12. Karim Arinaitwe (Kobs)
13. Lukwago  William (Mongers)
14. Ngongodyo Sydney (Pirates)
15. Shimwa Davis (Rhinos)
16. Sexton Okeny Nobert (Heathens)
17. Kizito Roy (Impis)
18. Edo Carl (Rams)
19. Kateregga (Buffaloes)
20. Timothy Mugisha (Hippos)

21. Edgar Kairu (Mongers)</div

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top