World 7s Series Dream Team after conclusion of 2022 campaign

2022 HSBC World 7s Series Dream Team. Photo Courtesy/World 7s Series.
2022 HSBC World 7s Series Dream Team. Photo Courtesy/World 7s Series.

The World 7s Series Dream Team has been named after the conclusion of the 2022 competition which ran from December 2021 to August 2022.

Champions Australia have two players included in the dream team, they include Coorey Toole and Nick Malouf.  Argentina have also produced two players Marcos Moneta and Luciano Gonzalez.

Ireland’s Terry Kennedy, South Africa’ s Zain Davids and Fijian Waisea Nacuqu are all included in the Dream Team.

Dream Team

Corey Toole – Toole made his Series debut for Australia sevens at the first round of the 2022 Series in Dubai, and finished the Series as the second leading try scorer with 43 tries, the most by a rookie player.

Terry Kennedy – Led the Series in the number of tries, assists and carries, and was second in  line breaks behind Corey Toole.

Marcos Moneta – The 2021 World Sevens Player of the Year scored 10 tries to help Argentina to victory in Vancouver where he was awarded HSBC player of the final. He scored 38 tries in total during the 2022 Series, despite missing the final round in LA.

Editor’s pick:

Nick Malouf – The Australia captain led his team to the Series title and contributed 8 tries, 11 clean breaks, 82 tackles and 74 carries throughout the 2022 Series.

Waisea Nacuqu – In his eighth season on Series, Fiji’s talisman was awarded the HSBC Player of the Final in Toulouse. During the 2022 Series he scored 230 points, 24 tries, 19 clean breaks, 85 carries and 62 tackles.

Luciano Gonzalez – A key member of Argentina’s impressive campaign which involved a first cup win since 2009. He recorded 30 tries, 32 clean breaks, 39 tackles and 173 carries – the second highest in the Series.

Zain Davids – Helped South Africa to claim consecutive victories in the first four rounds of the 2022 Series and ended with 13 tries, 68 carries, 18 line breaks, 3 offloads, 1 try assist and 91 tackles.

2022 HSBC World 7s Series Dream Team:

Corey Toole (Australia), Terry Kennedy (Ireland), Marcos Moneta (Argentina), Nick Malouf (Australia), Waisea Nacuqu (Fiji), Luciano Gonzalez (Argentina), Zain Davids (South Africa)

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top