Mwamba win 2022 Driftwood 7s

Mwamba Ronnie Omondi races away from Impala's Tony Khadambi. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-Half

Mwamba Rugby Club are the 2022 Driftwood 7s Champions after staging a comeback to beat Menengai Oilers 21-7 in a final at Mombasa Sports Club on Sunday.

Oilers competing in the first final this season had previously reached the 2017 Kabeberi 7s final, as well as the 2019 Kabeberi and Dala 7s finals, but had all lost. They strolled onto the pitch, hoping to end their final losing skid.

Their opponents Mwamba were also in the first final in 2022. They went into the final brimming with confidence after a flawless run in their last three final appearances (2018 Dala 7s, 2019 Kabeberi 7s and Prinsloo 7s) which had seen them win all.

The last time these two teams faced in a final was in the 2019 Kabeberi 7s final, which Mwamba won 27-7 in Meru Stadium in July. Mwamba defeated Oilers 27-7 thanks to Kenyan international Billy Odhiambo’s brace.

First half

In Driftwood 7s finals, Mwamba looked threatening early on but it was Oilers who drew first blood through Mark Kwemoi.  Oilers swinging the ball from left to right capitalised on a broken line for Kwemoi to sell an outrageous dummy before making a successful run for the try line.

A rampaging Mike Okello would pull the black shirts level, scoring from close range after receiving an offload from Eliakim Kichoi who had done all the donkey work.  the teams headed to the break tied at 7-7.

Kulabu were quick off the blocks as their continued pressure early in the second stanza bore fruits in the form of a Daniel Taabu try at the corner.

Things got worse for Oilers as Chrispin Onyango dotted down at the corner to extend Kulabu’s lead. That was the last try of the game as Kulabu won their first Cup title in this campaign.


KCB Rugby Club claimed the bronze medal in the tournament beating Homeboyz 21-14.  The game took a long break as medics gave attention to a Deejayz player who had taken a knock to his head. Mike Nyakundi would then sell an outrageous dummy to slice the bankers before speeding his way to score near the uprights. Mohammed Omollo added the extra twos to make it 7-0 heading into the breather.

KCB struck early in the second half with Mike Kimwele making a massive tackle on Nyakundi before picking the loose ball to pull the bankers level.

Nyakundi replied for the Deejayz moments later, latching onto an offload from Tom Maina before shrugging off the attention of a green defender to get his brace.

Eugene Omondi then scored for the bankers, avoiding the attention of three defenders on his way to make matters 14 a piece.

Bob  Muhati’s last grasp try made all the difference, making sure the bankers finished the leg on third place.

Kenya Harlequins claimed the fifth place while Nakuru won the Challenge Trophy.


Driftwood 7s Day 2

Challenge Trophy

Impala 21-10 Jumia Pay South Coast Pirates

Western Bulls 0-12 Nakuru RFC

Daystar Falcons 27-0 Mombasa RFC

Blak Bad 10-12 Zetech Oaks

Cup Quarters 

Homeboyz 10-5 Kabras RFC

Mwamba 19-0 Kenya Harlequin

KCB Rugby 17-7 Strathmore Leos

Menengai Oilers 10-7  Nondies


13th Place

Jumia Pay Pirates 12-19 Western Bulls
Mombasa RFC  7-26 Blak Blad

Challenge Trophy

Impala 7-24 Nakuru RFC
Daystar Falcons 33-0 Zetech Oaks

5th Place

Kabras RFC 10-19 Kenya Harlequins

Strathmore Leos 22-10 Nondies


Homeboyz 5-10 Mwamba Rugby Club
KCB Rugby 0-19 Menengai Oilers


Western Bulls 14-0 Blak Blad

Challenge Trophy Final

Nakuru RFC 14-12 Daystar Falcons

5th Place Winner

Kenya Harlequin 7-5 Strathmore Leos

Bronze Match

Homeboyz 14-21 KCB Rugby 16:10

Cup Final

Mwamba Rugby Club 19-7 Menengai Oilers -16:50

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!