Kabras Sugar are 2024 Great Rift 10s champions

Kabras RFC in a past action . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kabras Sugar have been crowned the Great Rift 10s Champions after they saw off Strathmore Leos 12-7 in the finals.

The victory comes just a week after Kabras claim a three-peat in the Kenya Cup beating KCB Rugby 29-5 at Kakamega Showground.

Kabras in the final

In a tightly contested final, Kabras Sugar were first to score after a brilliant backline move off the scrum. But defiant Strathmore Leos would fight back in the second half to draw level.

Kabras regained their lead minutes later after landing a try in the corner which went unconverted. Kabras would hold on to win the game 12-7.


In the first semi, Strathmore Leos ran in three tries to defeat Menengai Zuri 17-7. In the second semi, Kabras Sugar overpowered Menengai Cream 10-0.

Great Rift 10s Results

Round I

Molo 0-27 Zuri

Nakuru FC 28-0 NYS Spades

Egerton Wasps 0-10 Mean Machine

Kabras RFC 7-5 Strathmore Leos

Kabarak Uni 5-0 Blak Blad

Menengai Cream 19-0 CUEA Monks

Round II

NYS Spades 0-42 Zuri

Molo 5-29 Nakuru RFC

Egerton Wasps 0-24 Kabras RFC

Mean Machine 0-28 Strathmore Leos

Kabarak Uni  Menengai Cream

CUEA Monks vs Blak Blad

Round III

NYS Spades 0-17  Molo

Zuri 17-0 Nakuru RFC

Kabras RFC 36-0 Mean Machine

Egerton Wasps 0-12 Strathmore Leos

CUEA Monks 36-0 Kabarak Uni

Blak Blad 12-19 Menengai Cream


Zuri 7-17 Strathmore Leos

Kabras 10-0 Menengai Cream


Kabras 12-7 Strathmore Leos

Kabras squad

1.Gibson Perez
2.Geoffrey Shitambasi
3.Clinton Litali
4.Biden Hayo
5.Thomas Simiyu
6.Collins Indeche
7.Fortune Aturo
8.Dan Angwech
9.Rayvon Ambale
10.Collins Osore
11.Victor Otieno
12.Bede Enonda
13.Eric Cantona
14.Hillary Salano
15.Humphrey Asiligwa

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top