Kabras RFC name squad for Kenya Cup final against KCB

Kabras prepare for scrum contest. Photo Courtesy/Adolwa Miliza

Kabras RFC head coach Carlos Katywa has made one change ahead of the Kenya Cup final against KCB Rugby at Kakamega Showground.

With Jone Kubu, Derrick Ashihundu, and Mathias Osimbo ruled out for the season, the coach faces limited backline options, leading to an seven-one bench split.

Kabras RFC forward

Emmanuel Otieno, Eugene Sifuna, and Asuman Mugerwa will anchor the front row after their impressive performance in the semi-final win against Nondies.

The second row remains unchanged, with David Bunduki partnering with the experienced Brian Juma.

Kabras players in a a past match. Photo Courtesy/ Adolwa Miliza for Kabras

Kabras players in a a past match. Photo Courtesy/ Adolwa Miliza for Kabras

In the back row, captain George Nyambua, making his ninth Kenya Cup final appearance, will be joined by Kevin Wekesa and Gabriel Adero who will be featuring in his first final.

Brian Tanga retains his position at scrum-half, with Barry Robinson set to continue filling in as fly-half in the absence of Kubu.

Griffin Chao’s absence from the matchday squad sees the return of the Walter Okoth and Bryceson Adaka midfield partnership, with Adaka fully recovered from injury.


Alfred Orege retains his spot on the right wing, while Lamec Ambetsa moves to the left wing, and Ntabeni Dukisa shifts from midfield to fullback.

The bench sees the return of Jeanson Misoga after he was injured in their 14-10 win over KCB.  William Mwanji, and Brian Mutua, who missed the win due to National Team commitments are also back.

Kabras players in a past clash. Photo Courtesy/ Kabras media

Kabras players in a past clash. Photo Courtesy/ Kabras media

Mutua, with seven tries despite limited starts since joining in January, is the lone back on the bench. Patrick Lumumba, Teddy Akala, Edward Mwaura, Ephraim Oduor, and Hillary Odhiambo provide additional strength off the bench.

Kabras aim to achieve a three-peat this season, joining the ranks of esteemed teams who have accomplished the feat.

Kabras RFC Kenya Cup final squad

  1. Emmanuel Otieno
  2. Eugene Sifuna
  3. Asuman Mugerwa
  4. David Bunduki
  5. Brian Juma
  6. George Nyambua
  7. Kelvin Wekesa
  8. Gabriel Adero
  9. Brian Tanga
  10. Barry Robinson
  11. Lamec Ambetsa
  12. Walter Okoth
  13. Bryceson Adaka
  14. Alfred Orege
  15. Ntabeni Dukisa
  16. Teddy Akala
  17. Edward Mwaura
  18. Ephraim Oduor
  19. Hillary Odhiambo
  20. William Mwanji
  21. Patrick Lumumba
  22. Jeanson Misoga
  23. Brian Mutua

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top