Kenya U20 provisional squad named ahead of Barthes Cup preps

Kenya U20 squad in a Barthes Cup event. Photo Courtesy/KRU

Kenya Rugby Union have announced the Kenya U20  provisional squad of 56 players ahead of the 2024 Barthes U20 trophy tournament, set for 20th to 28th April, in Harare, Zimbabwe.

The players were selected from a larger group of 125 who participated in the trials held by the Kenya 15s Program management at the RFUEA Grounds on Saturday 17th February.

The squad includes fourteen players who were part of the 2023 squad; twelve that played in the Barthes U20 Trophy and the World Rugby U20 Trophy in April and July 2023 respectively and two additional players who were part of the 2023 provisional squad but didn’t make it to the final squad.

The team who will be under the tutelage of Simon Jawichre and Kenny Rogers Andola, will start their preparations for the upcoming assignment in Zimbabwe on Sunday 25th February.

Tight Head Props

Hafidh Abdulrehman Mohamed (Mombasa RFC)

Darren Oluoch (Kabras Sugar)

Mike Muriithi (Kabras Sugar)

Geylord Mgasi (Daystar Falcons)


Joseph Gitoi (Daystar Falcons)

Owen Ayieko (Kenyatta University Blak Blad)

Dennis Ochieng (Shamas Foundation)

Brian Shile (Kenyatta University Blak Blad)

Sospeter Rofino (South Coast Pirates)

Jeremy Odhiambo (CUEA Monks)

Loose Head Props

Erick Juma (Daystar Falcons)

Ogutu Wycliffe (Daystar Falcons)

Dillan Ouma (Blak Blad)

Dennis Kisingu (Strathmore Leos)

Adenya Nyandusi (Strathmore Leos)


Leon Onduso (Impala)

Aldrine Andaje (Daystar Falcons)

Andycole Omolo (KCB)

Eugene Etale (Menengai Oilers)

Nathan Tsindoli (Daystar Falcons)

Edmond Omondi (MMUST)

Eddy Otieno (Northern Suburbs)

Hillary Rooney (MKU)

John Asega (SC Pirates)

Kelvin Okwanyo (Maseno)


Maxwell Kipsang (Nondies)

Biphon Mbaka (Homeboyz Rugby)

Mark Muraya (D Kimathi)

Willy Tino (JKUAT)

Jeremy Namiti (Kenya Harlequin)

Iddo Kuta (Kenya Harlequin)

Justine Lunale (Menengai Oilers)


Patrick Wainaina (Kenya Harlequin)

Roymark Maruti (Kabras Sugar)

Obed Aberi (Homeboyz Rugby)

Charles Maina (Molo)

Brian Mwendwa (Unattached)


40. Mike Wamalwa (KCB)

Daniel Kipchirchir (W. Bulls)

Issa Benjamin (KCA)

Darrel Brantana (Kabras Sugar)

Joseph Ouma (Unattached)

Jean Claude Aywah (Daystar Falcons)

Dennis Ndayala (Mwamba RFC)

Back Three

Simon Buluku (Mwamba RFC)

Rene Wangalachi (Mwamba RFC)

Samuel Mutua (MKU)

Eugene Ojiambo (Mwamba RFC)


Jackson Siketi (Kabras Sugar)

Elvis Otete (Kenyatta University Blak Blad)

Benson Kihiti (Unattached)

Derrick Owino (Administration Police Warriors)

Olusisa Branton (Administration Police Warriors)

Brian Kiptanui (Kabras Sugar)

Story by KRU media

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top