2023 Uganda Rugby Award winners

Pius Ogena and Peace Lekuru after winning award Uganda Rugby Awards. PHOTO/Uganda Rugby

The Uganda Rugby Union recognized sports persons at the second edition of Uganda Rugby Union Awards.

Uganda Women’s Captain Peace Lekuru has been named the 2023 Most Valuable Player alongside KoBs Rugby and Uganda Mens 7s and 15a Pius Ogena.

Lekuru earned her spot with a great captain moment after she captained the team to win the 2023 Safari 7s and received the Tournament’s Top Scorer award.

Pius Ogena got recognition as he held a long-standing record when he scored twenty-two tries in eighteen matches in the Uganda XVs league in 2022.

Kisubi Lady Pacers and Uganda Women’s 7s Grace Nabaggala has been named as the 2023 upcoming player. Her spark became visible when she earned herself a starting place in the Uganda Women’s 7s after winning all Central Region 7s league MVP awards.

Uganda Rugby Union has also recognized Umar Balikanda as the Referee of the Year after he showed outstanding ability in managing most of the competitive and more intense matches which earned him cross-border assignments.

The domestic Coach of the Year award belonged to Stanbic Black Pirates, Marvin Odongo, his efforts were recognized by his season double win in the Nile Special 7s which led to the team winning the league.

Ernest A has also been spotlighted after being termed the Uganda Rugby Journalist of the Year.

2023 Uganda Rugby Awards

Men’s Upcoming Player: Shakim Ssembusi

Women’s Upcoming Player: Grace Nabaggala

Referee of the Year: Umar Balikkanda

Men’s XVs Top Try Scorer (Nile Special Rugby Premier League): Pius Ogena

Women’s XVs Top Try Scorer (Central Region Championship): Emilly Lekuru

Men’s Golden Boot (Nile Special Rugby Premier League): Ivan Magomu

Women’s Golden Boot (Central Region Championship): Charlotte Theresa Mudoola

Domestic Coach of the Year: Marvin Odongo

International Coach of the Year: Fred Mudoola

Team Manager of the Year: Michael Wandera

Fair Play Team Award: Jinja Hippos

Print Journalist of the Year: Faith Kiai

Radio & TV Journalist of the Year: John Torach

Digital Journalist of the Year: Grace Lindsay Mbabazi

Photographer of the Year: Hassan Omar Wamwayi

Nile Special Award: Winnie Atyang

Presidential Award for Development: Traton Nyakato

Presidential Award for Service to the Union: Yayiro Kasasa

Women’s Most Valuable Player: Peace Lekuru

Men’s Most Valuable Player: Pius Ogena

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top