Dates for 40th edition of Impala Floodlit tournament revealed

Nondies Benson Salem in action against KCB. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Former Kenya Cup side, Impala RFC, have officially announced the dates for the 40th edition Impala Floodlit, set to take place at the Impala Club in October.

The much-anticipated Floodies will kick off on Saturday, October 14th, starting with the quarterfinal stage. The semi-final matches are scheduled for October 21, 2023, and the grand final of the competition will culminate on October 28, 2023.

KCB in Impala Floodlit

KCB Rugby, the defending champions, secured their title in the 2022 Impala Floodlit edition by defeating Nondies with a score of 20-3 in an electrifying match held at the Impala Grounds.

KCB Rugby in past event. Photo/KCB Rugby Twitter

KCB Rugby in past event. Photo/KCB Rugby Twitter

With this victory, KCB Rugby successfully defended their title, which they had also won in 2019. This marked their ninth Impala Floodlit title and fourth in a row. Davis Chenge of KCB RFC, a formidable forward, was honored as the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

The Impala Floodlit tournament serves as a prelude to the upcoming 2023/24 Kenya Cup season. It has become a tradition for Kenya Cup clubs to use this competition as a warm-up for the new season, providing an excellent opportunity to fine-tune their skills and strategies.

Consistently, clubs like Kenya Harlequin, Impala RFC, Blak Blad, Menengai Oilers, Nondies, and Nakuru RFC have been active participants in the tournament, contributing to its popularity and competitive nature.

ImpAla Floodlit most successful teams

Mean Machine 9 titles ( 1984,1991, 1993, 1994, 1995,1996, 2004,2006,2011)

KCB 9 titles ( 2005,2007,2013,2014,2015,2017,2018,2019, 2022)

Impala 7 titles (1999,2000,2001,2003,2009, 2010, 2016)

Barclays 4 titles (1985,1987,1989,1992)

Mwamba 3 titles (1986,1988,2008)

Kenya Harlequin (1990,1997,1998)

Nondescripts (1983,2002,2012)

Strathmore Leos (2011)

Floodies Roll Of Honor

1983: Nondescripts

1984: Mean Machine

1985: Barclays

1986: Mwamba

1987: Barclays

1988: Mwamba

1989: Barclays

1990: Kenya Harlequin

1991: Mean Machine

1992: Barclays

1993: Mean Machine

1994: Mean Machine

1995: Mean Machine

1996: Mean Machine

1997: Kenya Harlequin

1998: Kenya Harlequin

1999: Impala

2000: Impala

2001: Impala

2002: Nondescripts

2003: Impala

2004: Mean Machine

2005: KCB

2006: Mean Machine

2007: KCB

2008: Mwamba

2009: Impala

2010: Impala

2011: Strathmore Leos

2011: Mean Machine

2012: Nondescripts

2013: KCB

2014: KCB

2015: KCB

2016: Impala

2017: KCB

2018: KCB

2019: KCB

2020: Not played

2021: Not played

2022: KCB

*There were two editions of the tournament in 2011. Strathmore Leos won the 29th edition of the tournament in March 2011 with Mean Machine winning the 30th edition of the tournament in October 2011.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top