Kabras RFC welcome back Ashihundu, Cantona set for debut in Prinsloo 7s

Kenya Simbas Derrick Ashihundu in action against Zimbabwe. Phot Courtesy/ Kyro Sports.

National 7s Circuit log leaders, Kabras RFC, have announced their formidable squad set to compete in the upcoming Prinsloo 7s tournament at Nakuru Athletic Club on Saturday and Sunday.

Head Coach Felix Ayange has included the much-anticipated return of Derrick Ashihundu in the squad.

Ashihundu back for Kabras RFC

After a year-long absence due to an ankle injury sustained in July 2022, Ashihundu is back in action and fully fit to represent the team.

Adding to the excitement, the former MMUST fly-half, Eric Cantona, is set to make his debut in the Kabras colours on the circuit after crossing over in the transfer window.

Fly-half Erick Cantona in a past action. He is set to Kabras RFC debut. Photo/MMUST
Fly-half Erick Cantona in a past action. He is set to Kabras RFC debut. Photo/MMUST

The squad also boasts a strong lineup, with key players retained from the victorious Driftwood 7s in Mombasa.

Captain Paul Abuto, Kenya 7s forward Kevin Wekesa, Brian Tanga, Jone Kubu, Alfred Orege, Barry Robinson, and Lamec Ambetsa have all made the cut and will be pivotal in Kabras’ pursuit of their maiden Prinsloo 7s title.

Kabras RFC newbies stay put

New signings William Muhanji and Griffin Chao are set to make their third consecutive appearance for the club.

Dan Angwech and Bryceson Adaka will be participating in their second tournament this season, after impressing during their first appearance in Mombasa.

Kabras Dan Angwech races away from Quins defence, Photo Courtesy/ Lesnsah Image.
Kabras RFC Dan Angwech races away from Quins defence, Photo/ Lesnsah Image.

With an impressive 41 points in the National 7s Circuit standings, Kabras RFC are determined to carry their winning momentum into the Prinsloo 7s.

Kabras RFC squad for Prinsloo 7s

  1. William Muhanji
  2. .Kevin Wekesa
  3. Paul Abuto
  4. Bryceson Adaka
  5. Derrick Ashihundu
  6. Alfred Orege
  7. Brian Tanga
  8. Barry Robinson
  9. Griffin Chao
  10. Jone Kubu
  11. Eric Cantona*
  12. Lamec Ambetsa
  13. Dan Angwech

*Denotes Debut

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top