Kenya Simbas survive Border Bulldogs comeback to pick first win in SA

Kenya Simbas celebrate. Photo Courtesy/ Denis Acre-half.
Kenya Simbas celebrate. Photo Courtesy/ Denis Acre-half.

Kenya Simbas ended their two-match winless run in South Africa by beating Borderbulldogs 30-26 in a Currie Cup/Mzanzi Challenge match played on Saturday at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology – Bellville Stadium.

The Jerome Paarwater coached side had aimed to secure their first win of the year’s competition while also hoping to secure back-to-back wins over the Bulldogs, having beaten them 35-12 exactly a year ago.

Kenya Simbas lead in the first half

In the first half, Simbas took the lead with a try from Joel Inzuga, who had been shifted to the wing after making two midfield appearances. He was set up by Timothy Mmasi, who was making his first start for the Simbas in the competition. Ntabeni Dukisa added the extras for Kenya to lead 7-0.

The Bulldogs equalized with a converted try after capitalizing on a loose ball. However, Kenya took a narrow lead into the break following a penalty conversion from Dukisa, leading 10-7.

Dukisa added to the scores with a penalty early in the second half, bringing Kenya’s lead to 13-7. The Simbas further extended their lead to 20-7 through Vice Captain Samuel Asati’s try off a scrum in the Bulldogs’ zone, which was successfully converted.

Kenya’s third try came in the form of a penalty try, resulting in the Bulldogs being reduced to 14 men. Although they managed to score a converted try eight minutes later, the Simbas maintained a comfortable lead.

Dukisa widened the gap once more before the Bulldogs closed in with an unconverted try, bringing the score to 30-19 in favor of the Kenya Simbas.

A converted try by Border Bulldogs caused a tense mode in the final minutes. The Simbas however held on the slim four point lead to pick the first win.

Kenya Simbas line up:

1.Ephraim Oduor 2. Teddy Akala 3. Hillary Mwanjilwa 4. Ibrahim Ayoo 5. Elvis Olukusi 6. George Nyambua 7. Brian Ndirangu 8. Jeanson Musoga 9. Samuel Asati 10. Brian Wahinya 11. Joel lnzuga 12. Peter Kilonzo 13. Timothy Mmasi 14. Beldad Ogeta 15. Ntabeni Dukisa Reserves. 16. Griffin Musila 17. Emmanuel Mulindo 18. Brian Juma 19. Wilhite Mususi 20. Elkeans Musonye 21. Darrensheldon Kahi 22. Barry Robinson 23. Walter Okoth

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top