Kabras RFC tame KCB to win 2022/23 Kenya Cup title

KCB vs Kabras in a scrum-contest. Photo Courtesy/ Adolwa Miliza.
KCB vs Kabras in a scrum-contest. Photo Courtesy/ Adolwa Miliza.

Kabras RFC are the 2022/23 Champions after a putting a resolute defence and performance to beat KCB Rugby 19-9 to defend the title at a packed Kakamega Showground.

This is their third title in eight seasons that they have been in Kenya Cup with previous two coming in 2016 and 2022. This will however be sweet victory as they won it without losing a match,

Much awaited

The much-anticipated Kenya Cup final between Kabras and KCB promised to be a thrilling encounter, given their impressive performances in their previous meetings. Kabras had won 12 matches in a row to reach the final and were eager to finally defeat KCB in the final after losing to them in the previous five.

Meanwhile, KCB had a flawless record in Kenya Cup finals and were determined to maintain their winning streak while seeking revenge for their regular season loss to Kabras.

Kabras late changes to the squad, including the introduction of George Nyambua, Jone Kubu, and Lameck Ambetsa.

The Sugarmen started strongly, dominating the early proceedings and forcing KCB into their own half. However, their first attempt at a penalty kick by Ntabeni Dukisa went wide off the post, but they quickly made amends as Kubu converted a penalty to give Kabras an early 3-0 lead. Kubu missed on his second penalty attempt as the scores remained 3-0.

KCB had to make an early substitution as Max Kangeri was replaced by Johnston Olindi after sustaining an injury, and the bankers struggled to get into the game. Darwin Mukidza had a chance to level the scores with a penalty kick, but his effort went wide, keeping Kabras in the lead.

However, KCB soon found their rhythm and they nearly scored through Olindi, but Kubu made a try tackle after an Isaac Njoroge brilliant play and kick.

Kabras continued to pile on the pressure, and they were awarded another penalty just outside KCB’s 22, but Ntabeni Dukisa failed to convert, leaving the scores at 3-0 in favor of Kabras.

Kabras defend resolutely

In the second half, Kabras’ head coach Carlos Katywa made a substitution, bringing in Brian Tanga for Dan Angwech in an effort to increase the speed of play in the breakdown.

At the beginning of the second half, both teams were quick to exchange penalties, with Dukisa and Mukidza redeeming themselves for earlier mistakes to bring the score to 6-3 in favor of Kabras.

Moments later, Dukisa and Mukidza exchanged penalties once again, with Mukidza narrowing Kabras’ lead to three points, making the score 9-6.

At the 55th minute mark, KCB managed to draw level for the first time in the game, with Mukidza’s accurate penalty kick balancing the score at 9-9.

Kabras dominated the scrum, pushing KCB back into their own half and eventually earning a penalty try that increased their lead to 16-6 after repeated infringement by KCB.

However, KCB’s hopes of making a comeback were dealt a severe blow when substitute Micheal Wanjala was sent to the sin bin for a dangerous tackle that was spotted by the assistant referee.

Despite attempts to get a try they failed to beat Kabras defence which later won an penalty through Tanga and scored for 19-9 win.

Kabras RFC vs KCB Rugby Kenya Cup final squad

1.Ephrahim Oduor 2.Eugene Sifuna 3. Hillary Mwanjilwa 4. Elphas Emong 5. Brian Juma 6. Kevin Wekesa(C) 7. Daniel Sikuta 8.Jeanson Misoga 9. Dan Angwech 10. Brian Tanga 11.Alfred Orege12. Walter Okoth13.Bryceson Adaka14.Mathias Osimbo 15. Ntabeni Dukisa

16. Teddy Akala 17. Emmanuel Otieno 18.Asuman Mugerwa 19. Hillary20. G eorge Nyambua 21. Barry Robinson 22. Jone Kubu 23. Lamec Ambetsa

KCB 15. Isaac Njoroge, 14. Darwin Mukidza, 13. Peter Kilonzo, 12. Maxwell Kang’eri, 11. Jacob Ojee, 10. Shabani Ahmed, 9. Samuel Asati, 1. Oscar Simiyu, 2. Wilfred Waswa, 3. Curtis Lilako (Capt), 4. Elvis Olukusi, 5. Davis Chenge, 6. Andrew Amonde, 7. Felix Ojoo, 8. Peter Waitere

REPLACEMENTS 16. Griffin Musila, 17. Thomas Jimbo Okidia, 18. Nelson Nyandat, 19. Brian Munyali, 20. Steve Wamai, 21. Michael Wanjala, 22. Johnstone Olindi, 23. Michael Kimwele 

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top