World 7s Series standings after Los Angeles 7s

Kenya 7s vs South Africa. Photo Courtesy/KLC fotos
Kenya 7s vs South Africa. Photo Courtesy/KLC fotos

New Zealand have further extended their lead on top of the World 7s Series standings with another dominant performance in Los Angeles.

The All Blacks sevens team claimed the LA title with a 22-12 win over Argentina, marking their second consecutive victory of the season and their fourth consecutive finals appearance. With this performance, they have accumulated 107 points.

Olympic slots

Argentina have moved up to the second position with 86 points, sharing the same number of points with South Africa, who are in third place. However, the two are separated by their total points differential.

Fiji are in fourth place with 84 points, and they are closing the Olympic direct qualification slots.

Samoa are in fifth place with 81 points, while the defending champions Australia find themselves in sixth place with 77 points.

France occupy the seventh position with 76 points, with the USA, Ireland, and Great Britain rounding up the top ten with 69, 68, and 47 points, respectively.

Uruguay are in the 11th position with 29 points, four points above the relegation play-off positions for core teams.

Kenya 7s

Spain have climbed back to 12th place with 25 points, overtaking Kenya 7s, who have dropped to 13th place with 22 points after another disappointing outing in Los Angeles, where they only managed to secure one point.

Canada are in the 14th position with 19 points and they close the relegation play-off positions slots for core teams, while Japan sit at the bottom of the standings with only eight points.

How will relegation be decided from the men’s Series 2023?

The 15th ranked core team based on accumulated Series points following the tenth round in Toulouse will be relegated. The teams ranked 12th, 13th and 14th at the end of Toulouse will enter a four-team relegation play-off together with the Challenger Series 2023 winners at the eleventh and final round of the Series in London.

The relegation play-off will be round-robin format with the top two teams then playing a final. The winner will become the 12th core team on the 2024 Series, while the other three teams will enter their respective Regional Sevens Championships in order to qualify for the 2024 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The Challenger Series will continue to provide a pathway for teams to qualify for the World Rugby Sevens Series.

World 7s Series standings/Photo Courtesy/World Rugby
World 7s Series standings/Photo Courtesy/World Rugby

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!