Kabras RFC beat MMUST but miss bonus point

Kabras' Brian Tanga in a past Kenya Cup match. Photo Courtesy/Fanaka Studios.
Kabras' Brian Tanga in a past Kenya Cup match. Photo Courtesy/Fanaka Studios.

Kabras RFC extended their dominance over Lurambi neighbours MMUST RFC, with a 21-0 in in their Kenya Cup match played on Saturday 17 at MMUST Grounds.

Leading 21-0 at half time, the defending champions held on to register their fourth straight Kenya Cup win of the season and third consecutive over MMUST in Kenya Cup.   They however failed to pick a winning bonus for the first time since their 19-6 win over KCB in 2020/21.

Heavy downpour

A heavy downpour minutes before kickoff meant the two sides were prone to ball handling issues, and the result was evident as both sides conceded a total of five scrums in the opening ten minutes due to ball handling errors.

MMUST failed to pick the first pointers of the game as Timothy Mmasi’s penalty metres short of the 22 sailed wide.

Kabras capitalized on the mistake with Brian Tanga opening the scoring after nineteen minutes of play, when he picked the ball off a powerful scrum drive in MMUST 22 and split gap MMUST’s defence and score. Ntabeni Dukisa added the extras, to take Kabras into the lead, 7-0.

Ten minutes later and scores were 14-0, once again Brian Tanga adding his tally in a similar fashion to his first try after he caught MMUST defence napping to slice through and score, with Dukisa adding the extras.

Kabras would stretch their lead in the dying minutes of the first half, after Shem Angugo who was introduced into the game after Thomas Simiyu’s injury added Kabras third try metres of the post. Dukisa with an easy conversion added the twos to send Kabras lead to 21-0 at the break.

The second half witnessed little action as MMUST resilient defence kept Kabras at bay after camping in the students 22. The sugarmen came close to scoring deep into the second half but the referee called off the try as Malik Habil had knocked the ball metres off the tryline.

The sugar men held on to register their fourth win albeit missing a bonus point, with the game ending 21-0.


1. Javan Orlando 2. Ishmael Karanja 3. Collins Ngoko 4. Calvin Wabuyele 5. Nelson Makokha 6. Jadah Abdon 7. Reinhard Ngaira 8. William Mwanji 9. Veron Kaburu 10. Norbert Lumbwani 11. Griffin Chayo 12. Timothy Mmasi 13. Paul Odongo 14. Bevon Okoth 15. Byron Ogada

REPLACEMENT: 16. Caleb Owino 17. Mark Oluoch 18. Jimmy Mwembe 19. Micheal Onyango 20. Isaiah Mulongo 21. Washington Ombima 22. John Bahati 23. Erick Cantona

Kabras RFC:  1.Ephrahim Oduor 2.Teddy Akala 3.Joseph Odero 4.Hillary Odhiambo 5.Brian Juma 6.John Baraka 7.Thomas Simiyu 8.Jeanson Misoga 9.Brian Tanga 10.Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Alfred Orege 12.Malik Habil 13.Bryceson Adaka 14.Victor Otieno 15.William Opaka

16.Eugene sifuna 17.Hillary Mwanjilwa 18.Victor Were 19.Shem Joseph 20.Patrick Lumumba 21.Barry Robinson 22.Mathias Osimbo 23.Paul Abuto

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top