Kenya 7s

2023 Hamilton 7s Pools confirmed

Kenya 7s huddle in the Cape Town 7s. Photo Courtesy/ World 7s Series.
Kenya 7s huddle in the Cape Town 7s. Photo Courtesy/ World 7s Series.

Pools for the fourth event of the 2023 World 7s Series, Hamilton 7s have been released by organizers World Rugby ahead of the tournament slated for 21 – 22 January 2023.

Kenya 7s once again find themselves in a tricky pool where they are paired against Cape Town 7s and Series leaders Samoa,  Fiji and France in Pool A.

Pool B has hosts New Zealand who will face off with  Great Britain, Australia and invitation team Tonga.  USA headline Pool C with their opponents set to be Uruguay, Ireland and Japan.

South Africa, who were the winners in Dubai, are in Pool D with Argentina, Spain and Canada.

The women’s tournament will have New Zealand,  Fiji, Great Britain, and invitation team Papua New Guinea.

Australia are in Pool B with France, Canada and Japan, while USA are in Pool C with Ireland, Brazil and Spain.

About the  2023 World 7s Series

The World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 promises to be the most competitive and compelling to date with more at stake than ever before as the top four ranked men’s and women’s teams will earn Olympic qualification for Paris 2024, while in the men’s Series the number of teams for the 2024 Series will reduce from 16 to 12 to equal the number of women’s teams and align with the Olympic competition structure, meaning fans can expect an intense battle to avoid relegation in the 2023 Series with every match and every point counting towards their final Series ranking.

How will relegation be decided from the men’s Series 2023?

The 15th-ranked core team based on accumulated Series points following the tenth round in Toulouse will be relegated. The teams ranked 12th, 13th and 14th at the end of Toulouse will enter a four-team relegation play-off together with the Challenger Series 2023 winners at the eleventh and final round of the Series in London.

The relegation play-off will be a round-robin format with the top two teams then playing a final. The winner will become the 12th core team in the 2024 Series, while the other three teams will enter their respective Regional Sevens Championships in order to qualify for the 2024 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The Challenger Series will continue to provide a pathway for teams to qualify for the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Hamilton 7s 

Pool A: Samoa, Fiji, France, Kenya 7s

Pool B: New Zealand, Great Britain, Australia, Tonga

Pool C: USA, Uruguay, Ireland, Japan

Pool D: South Africa, Argentina, Spain, Canada.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top