Oilers ring changes for MMUST clash

Menengai Oilers in a past action Phot Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Menengai Oilers head coach Gibson Weru has named his side to take on MMUST, in their Kenya Cup duel set for Saturday 10 at Nakuru Showground.

The tactician has made six changes to the team that won 24-10 against Kenya Harlequins the previous week.


Coleman Were returns to the starting side after coming in from the bench against Quins, and joins the pair of Kevin Masibo and Vincent Mwikali who replaces Edward Mwaura and Desterious Ifedha in an all-new front row.

Wallace Ochieng also returns to the starting side, replacing Clinton Odhiambo in the second row, and joins Ibrahim Ayoo to complete the tight-five.

Kenya Under-20 Tyson Maina is the last new inclusion in the pack and joins Brian Ndirangu and Chrispine Shitundo who skippers the side at the back row.

The experienced duo of Sam Onsomu and Geoffrey Ominde continue orchestrating the show in the half-back department, with John Okoth and Steve Arunga running the paces at midfield.

The back three sees only one change, Austin Sikutwa coming for Beldad Ogeta who misses the match, and starts in the openside wing with Timothy Omela shifting to the blind wing. Davis Nyaundi commands the attacks from the backs at fullback.

Oilers, who currently top the Kenya Cup log with ten points with a superior point difference will be seeking to maintain their fine start into the season that has seen them win their opening two fixtures against Mean Machine and Kenya Harlequins.


1. Kevin Masibo 2. Coleman Were 3. Vincent Mwikali 4. Ibrahim Ayoo 5. Wallace ochieng 6. Tyson Maina 7. Brian Ndirangu 8. Chrispine Shitundo 9. Sam Onsomu 10. Geoffrey Ominde 11. Timothy Omela 12. John Okoth 13. Steve Arunga 14. Austin sikutwa 15. Davis Nyaundi


16. Hillary Malweyi 17. Francis Atiti 18. Emmanuel Mulla 19. Clinton Odhiambo 20. Samuel were 21. Andrew Odero 22. Tony Oketch 23. Eugene Lubanga.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top