Kenya 7s

2022 Dubai 7s Pools announced

Kenya 7s skipper Nelson Oyoo poses with World Cup trophy. Photo Courtesy/World Rugby
Kenya 7s skipper Nelson Oyoo poses with World Cup trophy. Photo Courtesy/World Rugby

Pools for the Dubai Sevens scheduled for the Sevens Stadium in December 2022 have been announced ahead of the tournament.

Australia who are the Hong Kong Champions and lead the World  7s Series standings have been seeded top in Pool A alongside South Africa, Great Britain and  Kenya 7s who failed to pick a win in the Hong Kong campaign.

Fiji in Pool B

Pool B has Fiji who are grouped alongside Argentina, New Zealand and newbies Uruguay who got promoted to the top tier after winning the Challenger Series.

The third Pool has France, Ireland, Spain and African Champions Uganda who head to this as an invitational side.

In Pool D, Samoa will face off with USA, Canada and Japan.

About the  2023 World 7s Series

The World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 promises to be the most competitive and compelling to date with more at stake than ever before as the top four ranked men’s and women’s teams will earn Olympic qualification for Paris 2024, while in the men’s Series the number of teams for the 2024 Series will reduce from 16 to 12 to equal the number of women’s teams and align with the Olympic competition structure, meaning fans can expect an intense battle to avoid relegation in the 2023 Series with every match and every point counting towards their final Series ranking.

How will relegation be decided from the men’s Series 2023?

The 15th-ranked core team based on accumulated Series points following the tenth round in Toulouse will be relegated. The teams ranked 12th, 13th and 14th at the end of Toulouse will enter a four-team relegation play-off together with the Challenger Series 2023 winners at the eleventh and final round of the Series in London.

The relegation play-off will be a round-robin format with the top two teams then playing a final. The winner will become the 12th core team in the 2024 Series, while the other three teams will enter their respective Regional Sevens Championships in order to qualify for the 2024 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The Challenger Series will continue to provide a pathway for teams to qualify for the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top