Menengai Oilers receive Wesonga, Were boost, name four debutants for Nakuru date

Menengai Oilers players in a past action. Photo Courtesy/Oilers media
Menengai Oilers players in a past action. Photo Courtesy/Oilers media

Menengai Oilers Head Coach Gibson Weru has named his matchday 23 to play Nakuru RFC in Impala Floodlit quarterfinal at Impala Club at 4:00 PM.

The squad has been boosted by the return of fly-half Abutwalib Wesonga and Samuel Were who missed out last season due to injuries.  Were reclaims jersey eight as captain Chrispine Shitundo and Tyson Maina start as flankers.


Wallace Onyango and Brian Ndirangu are named in the second row with Francis Atiti, Hillary Malweyi and Emmanuel Mulindo leading the pack upfront.

Wesonga at 10 is joined by scrum-half Andrew Odero with Mark Kwemoi at 13, Austin Sikutwa at 14 and Eugene Lubanga at 15.

Two players Herbert Ochieng and Davis Otundo will make their debut on the left wing and inside centre respectively. Kelvin Masibo, Eric Miheso have been named on the bench for their maiden appearances.

Menengai Oilers finished second in the 2019 floodies losing to KCB in the final and will be seeking to better their performance this year.

Menengai Oilers squad:

: 1. Atiti Francis 2. Malweyi Hillary 3. Mulindo Emmanuel 4. Onyango Wallace 5. Ndirangu Brian 6. Maina Tyson 7. Shitundo Chrispine – Captain 8. Were Samuel 9. Odero Andrew 10. Wesonga Abutwalib 11. Ochieng Herbert * 12. Otundo Davis * 13. Kwemoi Mark 14. Sikutwa Austin 15. Lubanga Eugene
16. Were Coleman 17. Masibo Kevin * 18. Mwikali Vincent 19. Ayoo Ibrahim 20. Miheso Eric * 21. Mburu Kevin 22. Nandwa Roy 23. Nyaundi Davis

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top