Prinsloo 7s awards: Strathmore Leos ace bags MVP award

Strathmore Leos receive Embu 7s Trophy. Photo Courtesy/Embu 7s
Strathmore Leos receive Embu 7s Trophy. Photo Courtesy/Embu 7s

Strathmore Leos George Ooro was named the Most Valuable Player in the Prinsloo 7s tournament played on Saturday and Sunday at Nakuru Athletic Club.

Ooro who was also named in the Dream Team scored 40 points and eight tries in the competition as the Leos team finished second in the Prinsloo, losing 12-7 against Menengai Oilers.

Prinsloo top try scorer 

With eight tries, the man who bagged a hattrick in Strathmore Leos’ 26-5 win over Homeboyz to reach the Prinsloo 7s final was also awarded as the top try scorer in the penultimate tournament of the 2021 campaign.

Nondies and Kenyan International Benson Salem was the top points scorer with 48 points in the tournament. Salem had six tries and nine conversions as Nondies won the Challenge Trophy.

Oilers Steve Arunga who was also included in the dream was the Most Promising player of the tournament.

Prinsloo award Winners 

George Ooro (Strathmore Leos)-MVP

George Ooro (Strathmore Leos)- Top try Scorer -8

Steve Arunga (Menengai Oilers)- Most Promising player

Benson Salem (Nondies) – Top Points Scorer

2022 National 7s Circuit dates

21/22 May: George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial 7s,  – KCB Rugby Club

28/29 May: Christie 7s, RFUEA Ground, Nairobi-  Strathmore Leos

18/19 June: Driftwood 7s, Mombasa Sports Club, Mombasa- Mwamba Rugby Club

2/3 July: Dala 7s, Jomo Kenyatta Stadium, Kisumu- Homeboyz

9/10 Jul: Prinsloo 7s, Nakuru Athletic Club, Nakuru- Menengai Oilers

16th/17th  July: Kakamega 7s, The Bull Ring, Kakamega-

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top