Namibia reveal squad for Burkina Faso match

Photo Courtesy/KRU

Namibia Head Coach  Allister Coetzee has named his squad that will play against Burkina Faso in the Rugby Africa Cup 15s quarterfinal match at Stade Pierre-Delort in Marseille.

Colomiers centre Johan Deysel has been tasked with captaincy duties in this competition. The French-based player will start in the midfield alongside Danco Burger.  Daman Stevens starts a scrum-half with Cliven Loubser at fly-half.

Divan Rossouw, JC Greyling and Lorenzo Louis have been tasked with back three duties.  The pack, Des Sethie, Thorsten van Jaarsveld, Aranos Coetzee have been handed front row duties. Adriaan Ludick and  Ruan Ludick are in the second row and the back row has Prince Gaoseb, Johan Retief and Adriaan Booysen.

The winner of this match will progress to the semi-finals on Wednesday, which will decide the identity of the teams that will contest Sunday’s final at Stade Maurice David.

Editor’s Pick

With one automatic qualification spot at RWC 2023 up for grabs in France, it means that the victorious team must win three matches in less than 10 days to take their place in Pool A as Africa 1 next year.

The losing finalist will still have a chance to secure their ticket to RWC 2023 through the Final Qualification Tournament.

Namibia: 1.Des Sethie, 2. Thorsten van Jaarsveld, 3. Aranos Coetzee. 4. Adriaan Ludick,  5. Ruan Ludick, 6. Prince Gaoseb, 7. Johan Retief,  8.Adriaan Booysen, 9.Daman Stevens, 10.Cliven Loubser, 11. Divan Rossouw, 12.Danco Burger, 13.  Johan Deysel (captain) 14.JC Greyling, 15. Lorenzo Louis.

Replacements: 16. Jano Otto, 17. Louis van der Westhuizen, 18.Jason Benade, 19. PJ van Lill, 20. Wian Conradie, 21. Jacques Theron, 22. PW Steenkamp, 23. Alcino Isaacs

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top