Driftwood 7s Dream Team: Mwamba, Menengai Oilers dominate

Mwamba Rugby Club and Menengai Oilers have dominated the Dream Team with three players each in the seven-man team.

Kenyan International Daniel Taabu who was named the Driftwood 7s Most Valuable Player has been included in the Team of Tournament.  Taabu played an important role in Mwamba’s run-up to the final and scored the second try as Kulabu staged a comeback to defeat Menengai Oilers 21-7.

He is joined by teammates Ronnie Omondi and forward Mike Okello who also featured in Mwamba’s win.

Finalists Menengai Oilers have Austin Sikutwa, Amos Onyikwa and Steve Arunga. Sikutwa is making his second appearance in the dream team.

Daystar Falcons speedster Patrick Odongo who was awarded as the Most Promising Player of the tournament award has also been named to the team. Odongo is making his second appearance in the team of the tournament having made the cut during the Christie 7s.

Driftwood 7s  Dream  Team:  Patrick Odongo,  Mike Okello, Amos Onyinkwa, Ronnie Omondi, Daniel Taabu, Steve Arunga,  Austin Sikutwa

Revised National 7s Circuit dates

21/22 May: George Mwangi Kabeberi Memorial 7s,  – KCB Rugby Club

28/29 May: Christie 7s, RFUEA Ground, Nairobi-  Strathmore Leos

18/19 June: Driftwood 7s, Mombasa Sports Club, Mombasa- Mwamba Rugby Club

2/3 July: Dala 7s, Jomo Kenyatta Stadium, Kisumu

9/10 Jul: Prinsloo 7s, Nakuru Athletic Club, Nakuru

16th/17th  July: Kakamega 7s, The Bull Ring, Kakamega

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!