Namibia to warm up for 2023 RWC qualifers with Stellenbosch, Italy matches

Namibia vs Kenya Simbas. Photo courtesy/KRU Media

Namibia will warm up for the Rugby Africa Cup 15s natches with a match against Stellenbosch University on Friday 17 June 2022.

Head Coach Allister Coetzee has selected two teams for the match. The teams have been named Blue and Red.  Blue will play the first half while Red will play in the second half.

The match is part of Namibia’s preparations for the Rugby Africa Cup in France which will also serve as the final qualifier for the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

The coach has revealed that from the match he will determine who heads to France for the qualifiers.

“I have selected two teams to play the Maties and the idea is that all the players get an opportunity to compete for places in the final touring squad,” he told the Namibian.

The coach has also confirmed that they side play Italy A next weekend before the qualifiers

“After that we will select the best 28 to take on Italy A next weekend and for the trip to France,” he said.

Coetzee said that he will also consider several other professional players who have not linked up with the squad yet.

“We will consider some others who are not here yet and still with their clubs like Aranos Coetzee and Louis vd Westhuizen who are with the Cheetahs. Wian Conradie and Janco Venter will be joining us soon from England, as will Torsten (van Jaarsveld), who is back from France,” he said.

“We’ve had four sessions so far and it’s gone well. We need to get more work under the belt, but I’m happy with the progress made,” he added.

The Namibian teams to take on Stellenbosch are as follows:
Blue team: Herschelle van Wyk, Wikus Jacobs, Chemigan Beukes, Adriaan Ludick, Ruan Ludick, Cameron Langenhoven, Joshua Jacobs, Oderich Mouton, Jacques Theron, PW Steenkamp, Chad Plato, Alcino Isaacs, Johan Deysel (captain), Warren Ludwig, Divan Rossouw.
Red team: Jano Otto, Gerhard Thirion, Jason Benade, PJ van Lill, Johan Luttig, Thomasau Forbes, Prince Gaoseb (captain), Adriaan Booysen, Damian Stevens, TC Kisting, JC Greyling, Danco Burger, Johan Deysel, Gershwin Mouton, Lorenzo Louis.

Substitutes that will also be used are Des Sethie, Obert Nortje, Max Katjijeko, Cliven Loubser and Lesley Klim.

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!