Kenya Simbas hand Coulson, Adaka starts against Eagles, Akala set for debut

Teddy Akala in action for Kabras RFC against KCB. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Kenya Simbas Head Paul Odera has released his squad that will play South Eastern Districts Eagles(SWD Eagles) in the Currie Cup on Saturday.

It will be Kenya Simbas’ final match in South Africa as their last two Currie Cup matches will be in Nairobi.

Martin Owilah, Teddy Akala, Bryceson Agesa Adaka and Dominic Coulson linked up with the side in last week and are set to feature this weekend.

Akala is set for his debut off the bench. Adaka and Coulson are set for their Simbas return having played last for the Simbas in June 2021.

Coulson starts at fly-half in the absence of Geoffrey Ominde and Jone Kubu.  He will have Peter Kilonzo and Adaka as his midfielders with Beldad Ogeta and Timothy Okwemba set to start on the wings.

Andrew Matoka has been named at fullback.  For the third time in a row, Bethuel Anami is set to start at number eight alongside George Nyambua who will captain the side and Chrispine Shitundo.

Patrick Ouko, Eugene Sifuna, Joseph Odero, Clinton Juma and  Martin Owilah are set to start in the tight five. Owillah will make his first appearance in three years.

Speaking after the Captain’s run this afternoon, Odera said the session went very well however, “The toughest part of training this week has been integrating the four players into the current system. They have done well to absorb a lot in such a short time,” he told KRU Media.

KRU has confirmed that Captain Daniel Sikuta and Thomas Okeyo are out due to ankle injuries, Elkeans Musonye and Colman Were have hamstring injuries while Brian Juma and Andrew Siminyu are out with thigh injuries.

The Simbas will play against the Leopards on 4th June and against the Eastern Province Elephants on 11th June. Both matches will be played here in Nairobi.

Simbas squad facing the SWD Eagles:

1. Patrick Ouko, 2. Eugene Sifuna, 3. Joseph Odero, 4. Clinton Juma, 5. Martin Owilah, 6. George Nyambua(Captain), 7. Chrispine Shitundo, 8. Bethuel Anami, 9. Brian Wahinya, 10. Dominic Coulson, 11. Beldad Ogeta, 12. Peter Kilonzo(Vice-Captain), 13. Bryceson Adaka, 14. Timothy Omela, 15. Andrew Matoka.

Reserves. 16. Teddy Akala*, 17. Edward Mwaura, 18. Ephraim Oduor, 19. Shem Joseph, 20 Brian Amaitsa, 21. Brian Tanga, 22. Vincent Onyala, 23. Darwin Mukidza

Most Popular

Africa's Premier Rugby website, bringing you African updates, Kenya Rugby Union news, results, rumours, transfers, Rugby League news and more from across the world.

Copyright © Scrummage 2022. powered by SAFGAK Limited

To Top
error: Content is protected !!