2022 Christie 7s Pools

Pools for the second tournament of the National 7s Circuit-Christie 7s scheduled for RFUEA Grounds on 28-29 May have been released.

Kabeberi 7s winners and Christie 7s holders KCB Rugby headline Pool A and will face off with 2019 finalists Nakuru RFC, Hosts Kenya Harlequin and Jumia Pay Pirates who qualified for the top tier after finishing third in the second division.

Strathmore Leos who came second in the Kabeberi 7s are in Pool B. They will face off with Daystar Falcons, Blak Blad and Impala Saracens.

Pool C has Menengai Oilers while MMUST Rugby Club and their neighbours Kabras RFC find themselves in the same pool one again. Nondies complete the pool.

The final Pool has Homeboyz, Mwamba Rugby Club, Western Bulls and Western Bulls

KCB Rugby are the defending Champions having beaten Nakuru RFC 12-7 in the 2019 final. After recovering from behind to draw the game 7-7 at full time, KCB needed an Elphas Adunga sudden death try to win the title.

Wanyore had taken the lead through Monate Akuei with Geoffrey Ominde converting for a 7-0 lead. Geoffrey Okwach’s try converted by Levi Amunga saw the bankers level the scores and it proceeded to sudden death where the bankers emerged top.

The Christie Sevens, which began in 1962 and was incorporated into the Kenyan National Sevens Circuit in 1999, is Kenya’s oldest club sevens tournament.

It is named after Alex ‘Sandy’ Milne Christie, a Kenya Harlequins President, experienced rugby player, and referee for Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, Kampala, Uganda, and Mombasa, Kenya, who also served as President of the RFUEA and Vice-President of Wasps RFC in England.

Christie Sevens Div 1 Pools

Pool A: KCB, Topfry Nakuru, Kenya Harlequin, JumiaPay Pirates

Pool B: Strathmore Leos, Daystar Falcons, Blak Blad, Impala

Pool C: Menengai Oilers, Masinde Muliro, Kabras Sugar, Nondescripts

Pool D: Homeboyz, Mwamba, Western Bulls, Catholic Monks

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!