Kabeberi 7s: Flying starts for KCB, Mwamba and Oilers, MMUST beat Kabras

Menengai Oilers play races for a try. Photo Courtesy/Oilers Media

National 7s Circuit defending Champions KCB Rugby, Mwamba Rugby Club, Strathmore Leos MMUST Rugby Club, Homeboyz and Menengai Oilers had impressive starts in the 2022 Kabeberi 7s at RFUEA Grounds on Saturday.

KCB had a bright start putting 31-14 points past Western Bulls in the second pool A match played on Saturday morning.

In the first match of the tournament, MMUST upset Kenya Cup and Enterprise Cup Champions Kabras RFC in a Lurambi Derby, winning 17-12.

Reinhard Ngaira, Lameck Ambetsa and Erick Cantona scored a try each for MMUST with two conversions coming from John Bahati to cancel Malik Habil and Keith Embwaga’s tries.

Pool B

Strathmore Leos defeated Nondies 19-10. Two converted tries and one unconverted were enough to put the game beyond Nondies. Nondies landed two unconverted tries in the loss.

Kabeberi 7s defending Champions and hosts Mwamba registered the first cleansheet beating Mean Machine 32-0 to pick three points.

Pool C

Menengai Oilers handed Paul Murunga a defeat on his return to the National 7s Circuit beating Kenya Harlequin 24-14. Oilers who have had an impressive head to head record over Quins in the 7s and 15s versions scored the opener through Kenya 7s back Mark Kwemoi.  Dennis Abukuse belted in a conversion for a 7-0.

Kenya Harlequin pulled back for a 7-7 scoreline. Abukuse then joined the scoresheet with an unconverted try for a 12-7 lead.

In the second half, Oilers grabbed the third converted before Amos Onyinkwa made a long range sprint to score unconverted try for a 24-7.  Quins pulled back with a converted try but it was too late for them to come back.

2016 and 2018 Champions Homeboyz also kicked off their campaign with a 29-0 win. They became the second side to keep a cleansheet in the opening round. Kenyan International Richel Wangila bagged a brace while Captain Jan Remke, Brian Mutugi and Paul Akatch scored in the win.

Pool D

Impala Saracens won their opener against Northern Suburbs scoring four tries for a 24-10 win. Nakuru RFC also kicked off their season impressively beating 2019 National 7s Circuit division II winners Daystar 24-7.

Winners in each match have three points while losers have a point.


Kabeberi 7s Division 1 Day 1 Order Of Play
9:00am MMUST Rugby 17-12 Kabras RFC
9:20am KCB Rugby 31-14 Western Bulls
9:40am Nondies 10-19 Strathmore Leos
10:00am Mwamba 32-0 Mean Machine
10:20am Menengai Oilers 24-14 Kenya Harlequin
10:40am Homeboyz 29-0 Blak Blad
11:00am Impala Saracens 24-10 Northern Suburbs
11:20am Nakuru RFC 24-7 Daystar Falcons

11:50am MMUST Rugby v Western Bulls
12:10pm KCB Rugby v Kabras  RFC
12:30pm Nondies v Mean Machine
12:50pm Mwamba v Strathmore Leos
1:10pm Menengai Oilers v Blak Blad
1:30pm Homeboyz v Kenya Harlequin
1:50pm Impala Saracens v Daystar Falcons
2:10pm Nakuru RFC v Northern Suburbs

2:40pm Kabras RFC v Western Bulls
3:00pm KCB Rugby v MMUST Rugby Club
3:20pm Strathmore Leos v Mean Machine
3:40pm Mwamba v Nondies
4:00pm Kenya Harlequin v Blak Blad
4:20pm Homeboyz v Menengai Oilers
4:40pm Northern Suburbs v Daystar Falcons
5:00pm Nakuru RFC v Impala Saracens

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!