Kabras win 2021/22 Kenya Cup title

Kabras' Jone Kubu takes a kick in a past match . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-Half.

Kabras RFC are the 2021/22 Kenya Cup Champions after staging a comeback to defeat Menengai Oilers 34-28 in a thriller played at the Bull Ring.

It is their second title since promotion with their first coming in 2016 where they beat Impala Saracens.

It was the first final pitting two non-Nairobi teams with Kabras chasing their second title while Oilers were in search of their maiden title. Kabras had dominated the previous meetings against Oilers and headed to this encounter as favorites.

Oilers were quick off the blocks and their first entry in Kabras zone saw them win a penalty, went for a line-out and formed a maul that saw them beat Kabras opposition to score through ex-sugarman Coleman Were.

Geoffrey Ominde was sure with a conversion and his side led 7-0. Minutes later, Oilers were penalized for a high tackle and Jone Kubu hit the target off the tee for three points.

Oilers urge to open the gap further paid off as they won a penalty and Ominde hit the target for a 10-3 lead. Ominde later added a drop goal to move to 13-3. Ntabeni Dukisa had failed to score a three-pointer for Kabras minutes earlier.

The Nakuru-based side continue put pressure on the visitors and Andrew Odero expoited a gap, raced in Kabras dangerzone before releasing the ball to supporting Davis Nyaundi who scored for an 18-3 lead.

Having fallen 15 points behind, Kabras pushed harder to get their first try of the game through Kubu off a scrum. The conversion by Dukisa missed the target and the teams went to the break with Oilers leading by 10 points.

From the break, a miscued kick for touch by Kubu handed Oilers possession and they won a penalty which was converted by Ominde.

Kabras were able to earn the second try after 49 minutes of play with hooker Teddy Akala powering past Oilers defence to score their second try after being set by Kubu, Kubu added the extras for a 21-15 trail.

Just before the 60th minute, Kabras had camped in Oilers zone and George Nyambua offloaded to Bryceson Agesa who dived over under posts. Kubu added the extras for a 22-21 lead.

Kubu later added two penalties for a 28-21 lead before Timothy Omela came of the bench to score an Oilers a try for a 28-28 tie after Ominde’s conversion.

Kubu finally added two penalties in the dying minutes for a 34-28 win.

Kabras RFC: 1. Joseph Odero 2. Teddy Akala 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4. George Nyambua 5. Brian Juma 6. Kevin Wekesa, 7. Dan Sikuta (C) 8. Jeanson Musoga, 9. Barry Robinson 10. Ntabeni Dukisa 11. Alfred Orege, 12. Walter Okoth 13. Bryceson Adaka 14. Derrick Ashihundu 15. Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16. Eugene Sifuna 17. Hillary Mwanjilwa 18. Ephraim Odour 19. Hillary Odhiambo 20. David Bunduki 21. Collins Indeche 22. Brian Tanga 23. Felix Ayange

Menengai Oilers: 1.Edward Mwaura 2. Coleman Were 3. Vincent Mwikhali 4.Wallace Onyango 5. Clinton Odhiambo 6. Nickson Ochieng 7.Tyson Maina 8.Chrispine Shitundo 9.Andrew Odero 10. Geoffrey Ominde 11. Beldad Ogeta 12. John Okoth 13. Dennis Abukuse 14. Sikutwa Austin 15. Davis Nyaundi

Replacements: 16. Kelvin Mukoyani18. Francis Atiti 18. Destorius Ifedha 19.Brian Sinei  20.Brian Ndirangu 21. Kevin Mburu 22. Tony Oketch 23. Timothy Okwemba

Most Popular

Africa's Premier Rugby website, bringing you African updates, Kenya Rugby Union news, results, rumours, transfers, Rugby League news and more from across the world.

Copyright © Scrummage 2022. powered by SAFGAK Limited

To Top
error: Content is protected !!