All Saints Embu beat Butula to claim historic KSSSA National 15s title

All Saints Embu after claiming the KSSSA National 15s title. PHOTO/Tabby Nashipae

All Saints Embu etched their names in the annals of Kenyan school rugby history by rallying from behind to secure a thrilling 12-10 victory over Butula in the KSSSA National 15s final played on a rain-soaked pitch at Machakos School.

The match, a repeat of last year’s final which Butula had clinched, saw the two formidable teams collide once more after an earlier encounter in the group stage, where Western Champions Butula had staged a come-from-behind victory with a narrow 12-9 win.

All Saints trail

Butula seized the lead early on, with full-back Michael Lukusi crossing the try line, followed by Adran Kwesa’s additional try, propelling them to a 10-0 advantage.

However, undeterred by the deficit, All Saints mounted a resilient comeback. A drop goal just before halftime narrowed the gap to 10-3, setting the stage for a tense second half.

Action at KSSSA National 15s. PHOTO/KSSSA/Facebook

Action at KSSSA National 15s. PHOTO/KSSSA/Facebook

All Saints displayed their determination, adding another drop goal to close the deficit to 10-6. With momentum building, the Eastern Champions capitalized on a penalty opportunity to further reduce the margin to a single point.

In a thrilling climax, they surged ahead for the first time in the match, sealing their victory with a decisive penalty kick.

Fly-half Josephat Mbatia emerged as a pivotal figure, contributing nine crucial points to secure the historic win, while fullback Amos Onyango’s three-pointer added to the tally.


With this landmark triumph, All Saints Embu not only clinched their maiden KSSSA National 15s title but also earned the distinction of being the first team from the East Region to achieve such a feat.

Their journey now extends to the East African games, where they will be joined by Kitondo in representing their region.

They now join the prestigious ranks of Kakamega School, boasting an impressive eight titles, followed by St. Mary’s Nairobi with four championship victories.

Action at KSSSA National 15s. PHOTO/KSSSA/Facebook

Action at KSSSA National 15s. PHOTO/KSSSA/Facebook

Lenana and Nakuru High have each clinched the title three times, while Nairobi School, Njoro, Mang’u, and Musingu have earned the coveted trophy twice.

Additionally, St. Peters, Bungoma, Laiser, Upperhill, and Butula have each celebrated a single championship triumph, contributing to the rich tapestry of Kenyan school rugby history.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top