Kenya Under 20 final squad for U20 Barthes Trophy announced

Kenya Under 20 vs Uganda in a past event. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.
Kenya Under 20 vs Uganda in a past event. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kenya Under 20 Technical Bench has announced the final 28-man squad that will take part in the Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy scheduled for Nyayo Stadium from 22-30 April 2023.

Laban Kipsang who was part of the squad that represented Kenya in the 2022 edition will captain the side. He is joined by Felix Masega Chacha, Stansilus Shikoli, George Otieno, and Brian Makaya who have also retained their places in the team.

The team, led by Curtis Olago has also included Binghamtom University forward William Otondi and Zephenes Obwanga and Iddo Kuta who missed out on the final squad in 2022.

About 2023 U20 Barthes Trophy

The tournament will bring together top teams in Africa with the winner set to earn a spot in the World Junior Rugby Trophy scheduled for Nairobi, making the competition even more intense. World Junior Rugby Trophy is scheduled for 15th to the 30th of July 2023.

The participating teams will include defending champions Zimbabwe, last year’s beaten finalists Namibia, the hosts Kenya, and Madagascar, who will all be looking to clinch the trophy. Other teams that will feature in the tournament are Uganda, Zambia, Tunisia, and the Ivory Coast.

The tournament will be played on a knockout basis, with matches spread across three days. The quarterfinals will kick off proceedings on the 22nd of April, followed by the semifinals on the 26th, and the grand finale on the 30th.

Kenya’s under-20 team will be looking to build on their third-place finish in the 2022 Barthes Cup, where they thrashed Madagascar 49-15 in the bronze medal match. Chipu have already booked a slot in the WJRT competition as the hosts.In 2022, Zimbabwe emerged victorious in the Barthes Trophy after a thrilling 19-14 win over Namibia in the final. The Zimbabwean team displayed incredible skill and resilience, and they will be hoping to repeat their success in the upcoming tournament.

Kenya Under 20 Final Squad

Chipu Squad: Raymond Chacha (Strathmore Leos), George Otieno (Shamas), Gaylord Ngasi (Daystar Falcons), Eugene Etale (Unattached), Stanslous Shikoli (Strathmore Leos), Laban Kipsang (Kenya Harlequin, Captain), Iddo Kuta (Kenya Harlequin), William Otondi (Binghampton University, USA), Patrick Wainaina (Kenya Harlequin), Eddy Wambugu (Daystar Falcons), Raphael Wanga (Zetech Oaks), Felix Chacha Masega ( Mwamba), Mike Wamalwa (Catholic Monks), David Mwangi (Kenya Harlequin), Victor Mola (Strathmore Leos), Jeremy Odhiambo (Catholic Monks), Brian Makaya (Mean Machine), Wycliffe Ogutu (Daystar Falcons), James Asanga (Menengai Oilers), Jacktone Omondi (Kabras Sugar), Zephenes OBwanga (Catholic Monks), Faran Juma (Kenya Harlequin), Claude Kennedy (Blak Blad), Dennis Kisungu (Strathmore Leos), Mike Oduor (Daystar Falcons), Ahona Victor (Blak Blad), John Asega ( South Coast Pirates), Brian Mwendwa ( Strathmore Leos)

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top