Kenya 7s

Hamilton 7s Dream Team

World 7s Series team captains in Hamilton. Photo Courtesy/World 7s
World 7s Series team captains in Hamilton. Photo Courtesy/World 7s

The Hamilton 7s Dream Team has been officially announced by World Rugby following the conclusion of the voting process.

The team is composed of seven players who impressed in the tournament. Leading the team is a trio of players from Argentina – Marcos Moneta, Rodrigo Isgro, and Agustin Fraga.

These three players played a crucial role in helping Argentina win their second gold medal beating New Zealand 14-12.

Joining the Argentineans are three players from New Zealand – Akuila Rokolisoa, Roderick Solo, and Sam Dickson. These three players were instrumental in helping New Zealand climb to the top of the World 7s Series.

Completing the Dream Team is Fiji’s Manuel Maisamoa. The series will now move to Australia for the Sydney 7s.

How will relegation be decided from the men’s Series 2023?

The 15th ranked core team based on accumulated Series points following the tenth round in Toulouse will be relegated. The teams ranked 12th, 13th and 14th at the end of Toulouse will enter a four-team relegation play-off together with the Challenger Series 2023 winners at the eleventh and final round of the Series in London.

The relegation play-off will be round-robin format with the top two teams then playing a final. The winner will become the 12th core team on the 2024 Series, while the other three teams will enter their respective Regional Sevens Championships in order to qualify for the 2024 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The Challenger Series will continue to provide a pathway for teams to qualify for the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top