Blak Blad end Menengai Oilers five-match winning streak

Blak Blad players in a past action. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half
Blak Blad players in a past action. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Blak Blad became the first team to defeat Menengai Oilers this season after a narrow 17-16 win at the Kenyatta University Grounds on Saturday 14 January, 2022.

Menengai Oilers headed to Nairobi keen to bag another win to widen the gap between them and Kabras. However, things turned sour as Oilers headed home with loss.

Blak Blad on the other hand started the year on a low following a loss to KCB Rugby and were keen to capitalize on the home advantage to score maximum points.

Oilers were first to score through Davis Nyaundi. Tony Oketch added the extras. An infringement from the hosts saw Oilers bag three more points, which Tony Oketch collected.

The hosts would then pile pressure on the visitors, causing them to infringe, and Andy Gathua gladly scored Blad’s first points in the game.

The game would then be cagey, with the ball hitting fourth and back, but both teams failed to score before the end of the opening half.

In the final half, Blak Blad came back with a more intelligent approach against the Oilers and soon they infringed twice, and Kelvin Karue and Lionel Ajelity did not hesitate in taking the points for a 10-9.

Oketch scored a penalty for Oilers for a 13-9 before a try from John Otieno saw Blak Blad lead 14-13.

Both sides traded penalties and Blad would emerge winners.


Oilers overpowered Blak Blad 52-7 in the ESS match played at the same grounds.

Blak Blad v Menengai Oilers, 4pm, Kenyatta University

Blak Blad

15.Karue Kelvin, 14. Shuaib Saleh, 13. Archadius Khwesa, 12. Lionel Ekesa, 11. JJ Mulongo, 10. Gathua Andy, 9. Benji Rugar, 1. Okulo Nick, 2. Amayi Anthony, 3. Abwoga Muchere, 4. Ahony Feeney, 5. Odhiambo Steve (Captain), 6. Ochieng Jon Bax, 7. Opiyo Dennis, 8. James Otieno REPLACEMENTS 16. Njogu Lincoln, 17. Mwanika Lionel, 18. Collins Obure, 19. Obare Jared, 20. Obat Kuke, 21. Kibet Rotich, 22. Morris Paul, 23. Brian Kadenge

Menengai Oilers

15.Davis Nyaundi, 14. Herbert Ochieng, 13. Austin Sikutwa, 12. Davis Otundo, 11. Beldad Ogeta, 10. Tony Oketch, 9. Samson Onsomu, 1. Kelvin Masibo, 2. Hilary Malwenyi, 3. Desterious Ifedha, 4. Wallace Onyango, 5. Erick Miheso, 6. Nixon Ochieng, 7. Brian Ndirangu, 8. Chrispin Shitundo (captain) REPLACEMENTS 16. Coleman Were, 17. Francis Atiti, 18. Vincent Mwikhali, 19. Samuel, 20 .Tyson Maina, 21. Andrew Odero, 22. Abutwalib Wesonga, 23. Sheldon Wanjala

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top