Kabras narrowly beat Kisumu to book MMUST in Victoria 15s final

Kabras RFC in a past action . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.
Kabras RFC in a past action . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kabras RFC have qualified for the Victoria 15s final after narrowly defeating hosts Kisumu RFC 14-10 in a semi-final match played under floodlights at Mamboleo Grounds.

The Sugarmen went to the match after a comfortable 46-0 win over Mbale in the quarters while Kisumu had earned a walk-over against Kisii RFC to get to the last four.

Buyachi’s Men

Kisumu now coached by former Kabras backrower Lawrence Buyachi were first on the scoresheet with a try by former Western Bulls player Israel Makokha.  Washington Ochieng belted in a conversion for a 7-0 lead for the lake-based side.

Off a scrum in Kisumu’s territory, Dan Angwech sent a short past to fly-half  Valerian Tendwa who burst through the defence and scored a try for Kabras.  He rose and converted his own try for a 7-7 tie.

Kabras later led for the first time in the match when Tendwa rejoined the scoresheet and converted for a 14-7 lead.  The hosts on the other hand added a penalty to their scoreline for a 14-10.

The second half did not change the scoreline as Kabras went on to reach the final of the inaugural Western region Preseason Tournament.

Kabras will play MMUST in the final of the tournament. The students beat Western Bulls 29-10 in the first semi-final.

Kisumu RFC vs Kabras RFC squad;

1. Moses Amonde 2. Christopher Omuono 3. George Osiri 4. Kelvin Nyangaya 5. Peter Maroko 6. Paul Amenya 7. Elvince Odhiambo 8. Charles Odhiambo 9. Walter Ambe 10. Carlos Kevin 11. Philip Anyumba 12. Lendrix Obiero 13. Israel Makokha 14. Micheal Lumumba 15. Washington Ochieng

16. Micheal Osodo 17. John Ochieng 18. Elmard Abiero 19. Thomas Ogalo 20. Morris Osano 21. Caleb Wycliffe 22. Aggrey Kitoi 23. Walter AIKO 24. Eric Otieno 25. Marvin Odhiambo

Technical  Bench
Coach: Buyachi Lawi
TM: Ian Odongo
Medic: Mijere lucy

Kabras RFC victoria 15s semis squad:

1. Victor Were, 2.Geoffrey Shitambasi 3. Asuman Mugerwa 4.Argwins Otieno 5.Hillary Odhiambo 6.Arturo Fortune 7.Thomas Simiyu 8.Jeanson Musoga, 9.Dan Angwech 10.Valerian Tendwa 11.Humphrey Asirikwa 12. Habil Malika 13.Mathias Osimbo, 14.Victor Otieno 15.David Williams

Replacements: Gibson Perez, Kevin Totti, Patrick Lumumba, Clinton Litali, Biden Hayo, Felix Bukhutse, Barry Robinson, Hillary Salano



Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top