Collins Injera in Kenya 7s squad for 2022 Rugby World Cup sevens

Kenya 7s players celebrate. Photo Courtesy/World 7s Series/
Kenya 7s players celebrate. Photo Courtesy/World 7s Series/

Kenya 7s Head Coach Damian McGrath has named his squad that will feature in the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens scheduled for next Friday in Cape Town, South Africa.

The coach has called back veteran and leading try scorer Collins Injera for his fourth consecutive Rugby World Cup while Willy Ambaka and Billy Odhiambo are set for their third Rugby World Cup.

Captain Oyoo

Captain Nelson Oyoo, Samuel Oliech, Jeff Oluoch and Herman Humwa have been named in the squad for the second World Cup.

Johnstone Olindi, Vincent Onyala, Kevin Wekesa, Tony Omondi and Edmund Anya are set for their first appearance in the World Cup with Bush Mwale, Alvin Otieno and Daniel Taabu who were part of the Los Angeles 7s missing out.

Editor’s pick:

The RWC Sevens 2022 will begin on September 9 when Ireland takes on Portugal for a chance to play England in the round of 16.

Following that, Canada will face Zimbabwe, with the winner facing France.

Canada will then face Zimbabwe, with the winner playing France, before Samoa face Uganda for the chance to play the USA and Scotland take on Jamaica with a round-of-16 match against defending champions New Zealand the prize.

Kenya 7s have been drawn to play Tonga, for a chance to face Argentina, before Wales and Korea meet for the right to take on Australia in the round of 16. Hong Kong will then play Uruguay with the winner facing Fiji before Germany play Chile for the right to face South Africa in the final match of day one.

World Cup day 2

Day two begins at 08:15 local time with the men’s Bowl quarter-finals, before the men’s and women’s Challenge quarter-finals take place.

The women’s and men’s Championship quarter-finals will get underway at 19:07 local time.

The Bowl and Challenge competitions will be concluded at the beginning of day three, while the Championship Cup fifth-place semi-finals will get underway at 10:18 local time.

At 12:07 the first women’s Championship semi-final will kick off followed by the first men’s Championship semi-final.

The women’s and men’s Championship Bronze finals will be held from 19:01 local time, with the women’s match taking place first.

Just over an hour later, at 20:17 local time (GMT+2) the women’s Championship final will kick off, followed by the men’s Championship final at 20:54 local time.

Kenya 7s squad for 2022 Rugby World Cup:

Nelson Oyoo (captain), Collins Injera, Billy Odhiambo, William Ambaka, Samuel Oliech, Herman Humwa,Jeff Oluoch,  Johnstone Olindi, Tony Omondi, Vincent Onyala, ,Kevin Wekesa, Edmund Anya

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top