Kabras win Kakamega 7s after defeating NSC Champs Oilers

Kabras' Paul Abuto in action against MMUST. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.
Kabras' Paul Abuto in action against MMUST. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kabras RFC are the Kakamega 7s Champions after defeating newly crowned National Sevens Champions Menengai Oilers 19-7 in the final staged at the Bull Ring on Sunday.

The Sugarmen have ended a five-year wait for a Cup title in the shorter version. They had last won a Cup title in 2017 when they were also crowned National Champions.

Oilers headed to this having made history, winning their maiden National Sevens Circuit title by beating their closest Challenger KCB in the semis.

Menengai Oilers win 2022 National 7s Circuit

The date against Kabras was their fourth Cup final this season with Kabras making their first Cup final since 2017’s Christie 7s.

Kabras came to this final hoping to end the season on a high and were banking on their impressive run in the Sevens finals that had seen them win all their last three appearances in the final(2016 Christie 7s, 2017 Sepetuka 7s and 2017 Christie 7s.

Kabras impressive start

Max Adaka charges started off impressively with Kenya Simbas star Jone Kubu selling a dummy to slice through the defence to score the first try of the match. Barry Robinson converted for a 7-0 lead.

Kabras were at it again with Patrick Lumumba scoring their second try for the side to lead 12-0.

Oilers pulled back with a converted try after Beldad Ogeta split Kabras defence to score between the post for an easy converted try.

In the final half,  Kabras Malik Habil set up Brian Tanga who dotted the third try that Robinson converted for a 19-7 lead.

Kabras held on to win their first 7s Cup title since 2017.

KCB hoist Kabeberi 7s trophy. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Outing National 7s and Kakamega 7s Champions KCB Rugby sealed the second spot in the circuit after defeating Strathmore  Leos 21-14 to claim Kakamega 7s bronze. Mike Kimwele bagged a brace of tries with Andrew Amonde getting one try. All the three tries were converted.

Strathmore Leos who will get a podium finish in this campaign managed two converted tries through Brunson Madigu and Andrew Matoka.

2019 Kakamega 7s finalists Homeboyz finished fifth in the competition defeating Nakuru RFC 24-5 in the playoffs.

Daystar Falcons won the Challenge Trophy beating Blak Blad 14-12 while Vihiga Granites won the 13th place beating hosts 10-5.

Kakamega 7s Day two results

Challenge Trophy

Nondies 21-5 Kisumu RFC

Daystar Falcons 14-12 Western Bulls

Blak Blad 26-7 Vihiga Granites

Kenya Harlequin 33-7 Kabarak University

Kakamega 7s Cup quarters 

Menengai Oilers 33-5 Catholic Monks

KCB Rugby 27-7 Homeboyz

Strathmore Leos 19-7 MMUST Rugby Club

Nakuru RFC 19-22 Kabras RFC

13th place semis 

Kisumu RFC 0-36 Western Bulls

Vihiga Granites 19-14 Kabarak University

Challenge Trophy semis

Nondies 20-22 Daystar Falcons

Blak Blad 17-0 Kenya Harlequin

5th place semis

Catholic Monks 5-19 Homeboyz

MMUST Rugby Club 7-22 Nakuru RFC

Kakamega 7s Cup semis

KCB Rugby 12-17 Menengai Oilers

Strathmore Leos 10-14  Kabras RFC

13th place

Western Bulls 5-10 Vihiga Granites

Challenge Trophy

Daystar  Falcons 14-12 Blak Blad

Fifth place playoffs 

Homeboyz 19-5 Nakuru RFC


KCB Rugby 21-14 Strathmore Leos

Kakamega 7s Cup final

Menengai Oilers 7-19 Kabras RFC

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top