England name 36-man squad for Australia tour

England vs South Africa

Eddie Jones has named a 36-player squad for England’s summer tour to Australia.

England will travel to Australia on Tuesday 22 June ahead of their first game against the Wallabies in Perth on Saturday 2 July (11am BST KO).

Jones has selected 12 players from the weekend’s Premiership Rugby finalists, Leicester Tigers and Saracens, including a return for Billy Vunipola.

There are eight uncapped players: Fraser Dingwall, Tommy Freeman, Guy Porter, Patrick Schickerling, Jack van Poortvliet and Jack Walker, along with Henry Arundell and Will Joseph who are named as apprentice players.

England last toured Australia in 2016 where Jones’ side won all three Test matches with a squad which included ten current players: Danny Care, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Owen Farrell, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola, Jack Nowell and Courtney Lawes.

Jones said: “Though we have nine players unavailable due to injury, we have picked a very strong squad capable of winning the series. This squad is a real mix of young, talented players and some very experienced, senior players and we’re looking forward to bring the group together.

“This tour will be a great experience for the group and a crucial part of the team’s work towards the Rugby World Cup in 2023. We will continue to develop the base of the squad and how we want to play.

“We’ve put a lot of work into preparation for the tour over the past few weeks but now the hard work really begins when we finally get the squad on the plane and to Australia.”


Ollie Chessum

Luke Cowan-Dickie

Tom Curry

Charlie Ewels

Ellis Genge

Jamie George

Joe Heyes

Jonny Hill

Nick Isiekwe

Maro Itoje

Courtney Lawes

Lewis Ludlam

Bevan Rodd

Patrick Schickerling (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped)

Will Stuart

Sam Underhill

Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 61 caps)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 67 caps)

Jack Walker (Harlequins, uncapped)

Jack Willis (Wasps, 3 caps)


Henry Arundell (London Irish, uncapped) *apprentice player

Danny Care (Harlequins, 84 caps)

Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)

Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

Owen Farrell

Tommy Freeman

George Furbank

Will Joseph (London Irish, uncapped) *apprentice player

Joe Marchant

Jonny May

Jack Nowell

Guy Porter (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

Harry Randall

Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)

Marcus Smith

Freddie Steward

Unavailable for selection due to injury: Alex Dombrandt, George Ford, Joe Launchbury, Louis Lynagh, Sam Simmonds, Kyle Sinckler, Henry Slade, Manu Tuilagi, Nic Dolly and Anthony Watson.

Most Popular

To Top
error: Content is protected !!