KSSSA National 15s past winners: Who has most titles?

The Kenya Secondary School Sports Association (KSSSA) 15s games have been consistently played since 1990. 

Kakamega High dominance in the past decade (2010-2019) has seen them become record winners with eight KSSSA 15s titles and have appeared in the finals 10 times. The Barbarians last lost in a 15s National final in 2008 to Musingu at Kisii School. Coincidentally, their first loss in the final was in 1992 at the same venue.

Last decade

The last decade started with the Barbarians missing out on the Nationals due to indiscipline incidences which included roughing up a referee after a controversial 6-5 loss to Musingu at Chavakali Grounds which was not a good hunting ground for them.  Musingu also missed the showpiece and Western was represented by Bungoma.

Kakamega returned to the National games in 2011 and won on a toss of a coin after a 0-0 draw in regular time and 3-3 tie in penalties against the then-defending Champions Mangu. The Barbarians under Paul Weloba became the first-ever side to bag a National 15s treble after also winning in 2012 and 2013. Other titles came in 2000 (Maiden 15s title), 2002, 2009 (ending a six-year wait), 2017 and 2019.


St Mary’s Nairobi who did not have a good decade have also been impressive in finals winning four titles in five final appearances. The loss came was against Kakamega in 2009 at Eldoret Hill School and it was their last appearance in the finals.

Saints won their titles in 1995 completed a double after winning in 1997 and 1998 (the first-ever side to achieve a double).  Their last 15s title was in 2004.

Read also


Lenana and Nakuru High who have also won three titles.

St Marys Yala holds the record of the most number of losses in the finals (four).  They suffered three straight losses in 1999, 2000, 2001. 2003 saw them end their long wait by beating Nairobi School in Mombasa to be crowned champions.

Their recent final appearance was in 2013 where they lost to Kakamega High at Mang’u high School

Nairobi School have two National titles in five final appearances. Their title came in 1991 and 1996. Musingu, Mangu and Njoro have two titles each. St Peters Mumias, Upper Hill, Laiser Hill, Bungoma have a title each.

School and Number of titles won

School Years Won
Kakamega 2000, 2002, 2009, 2011, 2012,2013, 2017, 2019
St Mary School 1995, 1997, 1998, 2004
Nairobi School 1991, 1996
Lenana 1990, 1994, 1999
Nakuru High 1993, 2001, 2005
Njoro 1981, 1992
Mangu 2006,2010
Musingu 2007, 2008
St Peters 2014
Bungoma 2016
Laiser 2015
Upperhill 2018

KSSSA National School Past winners

2019 Kakamega School
2018 Upper Hill
2017 Kakamega School
2016 Bungoma High
2015 Laiser Hill
2014 St Peters Mumias
2013 Kakamega School
2012 Kakamega School
2011 Kakamega School
2010 Mangu
2009 Kakamega School
2008 Musingu
2007 Musingu

2006-  Mangu

2005- Nakuru

2004- St. Marys

2003- St Marys Yala
2002- Kakamega School

2001-Nakuru High

2000-Kakamega School


1998- St. Marys

1997- St. Marys

1996- Nairobi School

1995- St. Marys

1994- Lenana

1993- Nakuru High

1992- Njoro

1991 Nairobi School
1990 Lenana

1981 Njoro

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top