England’s 36-man squad for summer Series

England line up for a match against Samoa. Photo/England Rugby

Steve Borthwick has named a 36-player squad for the forthcoming Summer Series.

England play a Test match against Japan in Tokyo on Saturday 22 June before embarking on a two-Test tour of New Zealand to take on the All Blacks in Dunedin on Saturday 6 July and in Auckland on Saturday 13 July.

Six uncapped players are included in the touring party with Fin Baxter (Harlequins), Gabriel Oghre (Bristol Bears), Joe Carpenter (Sale Sharks) Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks) Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints) and Luke Northmore (Harlequins) all called up.

The squad – which will be captained by Jamie George and is made up of 20 forwards and 16 backs – will train at Twickenham Stadium on Tuesday 11 June before flying to Tokyo the following day to continue preparation.

“The Summer Series presents a valuable opportunity for the continued development of this squad and is a demanding challenge to conclude the season.


“For some of the younger players, it will be their first time touring abroad with England. Travelling together is a great way to build closer bonds and provides an important opportunity for new players to settle into our environment.

“With the changes in climate, playing conditions, and contrasting styles of rugby from the two opponents we face, we will be challenged on and off the field.

“The National Stadium in Tokyo is an incredible venue for Test match rugby, and we will need to be at our very best against a Japanese team who will want to play fast.

“New Zealand’s home record is well documented, and we face a team who came within one point of winning a World Cup. Historically it is not a place England have had much success, but we are determined to change that. The players know that they will need to be mentally strong and tactically smart if we are to get the result we want.”


Fin Baxter (Harlequins, uncapped)

Dan Cole

Alex Coles

Chandler Cunningham-South

Ben Curry

Tom Curry

Theo Dan

Alex Dombrandt

Ben Earl

Charlie Ewels

Jamie George – captain

Joe Heyes

Maro Itoje

Joe Marler

George Martin

Gabriel Oghre (Bristol Bears, uncapped)

Bevan Rodd

Ethan Roots

Will Stuart

Sam Underhill


Joe Carpenter (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Fraser Dingwall

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso

Tommy Freeman

George Furbank

Ollie Lawrence

Alex Mitchell

Luke Northmore (Harlequins, uncapped)

Harry Randall

Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks, uncapped)

Henry Slade

Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints, uncapped)

Fin Smith

Marcus Smith

Ben Spencer

Freddie Steward

22 June – Japan v England – KO 6:50am BST

6 July – New Zealand v England – KO 8:05am BST

13 July – New Zealand v England – KO 8:05am BST

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top