Uganda 7s name squad for Rugby Sevens Challenger Series opener

Uganda Sevens. Photo Courtesy/Uganda Rugby.

Uganda 7s Head coach Tolbert Onyango has announced their 12-man squad to take part in the upcoming World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series which is scheduled to take place at the Sevens Stadium in Dubai from  12th to 14th January 2024.

Ian Munyani who returns after missing Safari 7s will lead the squad during the Dubai duty and will be assisted by his vice Aaron Ofoyrwoth.

The coach has also chosen Roy Kizito who impressed in Safari 7s, Denis Etwau, Davis Shimwa, Pius Ogena, Adrian Kasito, Isaac Massangazira, and Alex Aturinda.

William Nkore completes the 12-man squad trusted by the technical bench to secure victory alongside Desire Ayera back injury and Timothy Kisiga.

The squad has a task to secure the top position to qualify for the high-staker promotion and relegation competition at the Grand Final in Madrid which will offer them the opportunity to qualify for the HSBC 7s 2025.

Uganda 7s squad

Pius Ogena

Desire Ayera

Isaac Massanganzira

Davis Shimwa

Alex Aturinda

Adrian Kasito

Aaron Ofoywroth

William Nkore

Timothy Kisiga

Denis Etwau

Roy Kizito

Ian Munyani (captain)

Technical Bench:

Head Coach: Tolbert Onyango

Physiotherapist: Samuel Rwakijuma

Team Manager: Michael Wandera

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top