Kenya 7s

2023 Toulouse 7s Pools announced

Kenya 7s Kevin Wekesa breaks through the Argentina defense on day three of the HSBC Cape Town Sevens at Cape Town Stadium on 11 December, 2022. Photo credit: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

World Rugby has announced the pools for the upcoming Toulouse 7s tournament, scheduled for 12-14 May.

The event promises to showcase the best of international rugby sevens, with 16 teams from across the globe participating and the event is also crucial as it decide the relegation race.

Kenya 7s in Toulouse 7s Pool A

In Pool A, current series leaders New Zealand are set to face off against Uruguay, Kenya 7s, and Canada. All eyes will be on these teams, especially the latter three, as they battle to avoid the relegation playoffs. With so much at stake, fans can expect high-intensity matches and fierce competition.

Pool B features Argentina, Great Britain, Spain, and Germany. While Argentina and Great Britain are among the favorites to advance to the knockout stages, Spain and Germany will be eager to cause an upset with the Spaniards also keen to avoid the relegation playoffs.

Pool C is arguably the toughest pool, with rugby powerhouses Fiji, France, South Africa, and the USA facing off against each other. These teams are expected to put on a show, with each one eager to secure a spot in the knockout stages.

Pool D is no less competitive, with Samoa, Australia, Japan, and Ireland battling it out for a spot in the quarter-finals.

How will relegation be decided from the men’s Series 2023?

The 15th ranked core team based on accumulated Series points following the tenth round in Toulouse will be relegated. The teams ranked 12th, 13th and 14th at the end of Toulouse will enter a four-team relegation play-off together with the Challenger Series 2023 winners at the eleventh and final round of the Series in London.The relegation play-off will be round-robin format with the top two teams then playing a final. The winner will become the 12th core team on the 2024 Series, while the other three teams will enter their respective Regional Sevens Championships in order to qualify for the 2024 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series. The Challenger Series will continue to provide a pathway for teams to qualify for the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Toulouse 7s Pools announced

Pool A: New Zealand, Uruguay, Kenya 7s, Canada

Pool B: Argentina, Great Britain, Spain, Germany

Pool C: Fiji, France, South Africa, USA

Pool D: Samoa, Australia, Japan, Ireland

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top