Alfred Orege bags brace as Kabras RFC defeat Mwamba

Kabras RFC vs Mwamba. Photo Courtesy/Fanaka Studios
Kabras RFC vs Mwamba. Photo Courtesy/Fanaka Studios

Alfred Orege bagged a brace as Kabras RFC defeated Mwamba RFC 42-7 in a Kenya Cup staged at Impala Club.

The Sugarmen have now won eight matches in a row and will remain second on the log.

Kabras oozing with confidence

Kabras RFC, following their win against Homeboyz and sitting at second place, headed into the match confident and eager to pick up maximum points and put pressure on leaders KCB.

Meanwhile, Mwamba, after two consecutive losses (80-10 to KCB and 53-18 to Menengai Oilers), aimed to bounce back with a win.

Kabras managed to score 21 points in the first half, with Jone Kubu’s offload setting up Alfred Orege for the first try, converted by Ntabeni Dukisa.

Center Walter Okoth then doubled the lead with a try that was also converted by Dukisa for a 14-0 lead.

Ugandan import Eliphaz Emong opened his account for the club with a third try, also converted by Dukisa, giving Kabras a 21-0 lead.

In the final minutes of the first half, Kabras were reduced to 14 players as Dan Sikuta was yellow carded for an infringement. Despite his 10-minute absence, Kabras held on and avoided conceding.

Kabras final half

Alfred Orege opened the second half scores with his second try of the match, earning the side a bonus point, which was converted by Ntabeni Dukisa for a 28-0 lead.

Fijian playmaker Jone Kubu then added to the score with a try, also converted by Dukisa, bringing the lead to 35-0.

Jeanson Misoga, coming off the bench, crossed over for the sixth and final try, which was also converted, giving Kabras a 42-0 lead.

Lucas Opal scored a try for Mwamba, becoming the first player to score against Kabras since December 10, 2022. The try was converted, resulting in a 42-7 win for Kabras.

Kabras RFC squad vs Mwamba

1.Hillary Mwanjilwa 2.Teddy Akala 3.Asuman Mugerwa 4.Brian Juma 5.David Bunduki 6.George Nyambua(C) 7.Daniel Sikuta 8.Elphas Emong 9.Barry Robinson 10.Ntabeni Dukisa 11.Lameck Ambetsa 12.Walter Okoth 13.Bryceson Adaka 14.Alfred Orege 15.Jone Kubu

Replacements: 16.Eugene Sifuna 17.Ephrahim Oduor 18.Emmanuel Otieno 19.Jeanson Misoga 20.Kevin Wekesa 21.Brian Tanga 22.Malika Habil 23.Mathias Osimbo

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top
error: Content is protected !!