MMUST Rugby name squad for Lake Victoria 15s against Kisumu

Nakuru vs MMUST. Photo Courtesy/ mmust

MMUST Rugby head coach John Asila has named his squad ahead of the Lake Victoria 15s tournament semi-final at Kisumu Polytechnic against Kisumu RFC on Saturday at 2:00 p.m.

The Makaka will battle it out with Kisumu RFC, a side that has just earned a promotion to play  the top tier league, the Kenya Cup, this coming season.

Coach Asila leaves the starting front row unchanged, leaving skipper Collins Ngoko in command of the forwards, with Caleb Owino and Javan Orlando as a hooker and tight head prop respectively.

MMUST second row

Nelson Makokha is tasked to lock alongside Ryan Makaka which leaves Churchill Oyugi to come off the bench in the second row. Brian Ndeda joins Paywick Wanyama and Mwata Mwakwari in the loose forwards’ slots.

Co-skipper and last weekend’s man of the match, Veron Kaburu, will be commandeering the ninth channel with fellow halfback Washington Ombima trusted with his boot.


Ian Oduor and Kelvin Bukhala will be at the centre, while ‘big’ Bevon Okoth, Sam Maboni and Josephat Omulefu will be covering the wings and back respectively.

Some of the changes see Brian Luseka included in this week’s assignment. Kenya U-20 utility forward, Edmond Omondi, will be making his debut off the bench this weekend. Phillip Otsyula and Nigel Obari are also set to make their rugby 15s first appearance for the club.

MMUST Captain’s sentiments

During an interview, the captain, Veron Kaburu said that this week’s training was purposed to polish the game structure and that he is confident that the makaka will bring the cup home.

“The Lake Victoria 15s is a good tournament helping us to prepare for the championship league. The tournament is helping us try out our structures and the junior players who are coming in with hunger to play.” Veron said.

“I trust my team and I believe tomorrow against Kisumu we’ll give our all. We are equal to the task and we are as good as they come. I want the team to build back the winning culture. We want to win this tournament so we’ll do what has to be done to bring the win home.” He added.


Forwards 1.Collins Ngoko (Cc), 2. Caleb Owino, 3. Javan Orlando, 4. Ryan Makaka, 5. Nelson Makokha, 6. Mwata Mwakwari, 7. Brian Ndeda, 8. Paywick Munoko.

Backline 9.Veron Kaburu (Cc), 10. Washington Ombima, 11. Bevon Okoth, 12. Ian Oduor, 13. Kelvin Bukhala, 14. Sam Maboni, 15. Josephat Omulefu.


Finishers 16.Ishmael Karanja, 17.Lenny Shume, 18.Daniel Mukambi, 19.Edmond Omondi*, 20.Churchill Oyugi, 21.Phillip Otsyula*,  22.Cyprian Ombaso, 23.Musa Mugandi, 24.Paul Odongo, 25.Brian Luseka, 26.Nigel Obari*

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top